Please help me install Midieditor (dependency difficulty)

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

seymourgler
Established Member

Please help me install Midieditor (dependency difficulty)

Post by seymourgler »

Hello again! Linux newbie here, running Lubuntu (Jammy Jellyfish) version of Debian on an old Lenovo ThinkPad 11e Baytrail/Glimmer with Intel Celeron N2940 Quad Core 1.83GHz processor. Hoping to do simple MIDI sequencing with an external synth, maybe an internal soft synth or drum machine too, if possible. I am having trouble installing the basic Midieditor, due to the following two dependencies, see below. I installed numerous qt5 and gstreamer packages, but keep getting this error. What am I doing wrong? Maybe something path related?

Any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated! Don't worry about insulting my intelligence, I'm very new to this whole platform.

Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
midieditor : Depends: qt5-default but it is not installable
Depends: gstreamer1.0-doc but it is not installable
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

Linuxmusician01
Established Member

Re: Please help me install Midieditor (dependency difficulty)

Post by Linuxmusician01 »

Are we talking about this midieditor that one has to install from an external .deb package and not from Ubuntu's standard repositories?:

http://www.midieditor.org/index.php?category=download