Long time musician - Linux newbie

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

mandofrog
Established Member

Long time musician - Linux newbie

Post by mandofrog »

Howdy all, glad to find this forum!

I've been playing music for most of my 69 years on this planet. In younger days I was a semi-pro drummer. Now I sing and play blues/bluegrass/swing/jazz on guitar, mandolin and fiddle in a couple casual bands.

I've dabbled a lot in recording music at home and have climbed learning curves with Cakewalk, MixCraft and ProTools (all on Windows), before finding Reaper (good find!). Recently I decided to get off the Windows wagon and jump to Linux, and have recently gotten Ubuntu Studio up and running. Otherwise I have little experience with Linux.

I'm looking forward to getting up to speed on Reaper on Linux, but first have to figure out how to install software that's not on ”Discover” (the app store) (LOL, newbie issues). Crossing my fingers that either of my USB interfaces will work (a M-Audio Fast Track Ultra, which does NOT work in Windows 10, and a Zoom R24 recorder/interface which works fine). We'll see.

-Randy (USA)
acoustic & electric guitar, mandolin, fiddle, drums
Ubuntu Studio (newbie), Reaper

ForrestH
Established Member

Re: Long time musician - Linux newbie

Post by ForrestH »

You'll want to investigate the REAPER forums as well, e.g. Newbieland and REAPER For Linux.

glowrak guy
Established Member

Post by glowrak guy »

mandofrog wrote: Sat Nov 11, 2023 8:52 pm

Howdy all, glad to find this forum!
We'll see.

Welcome! Linux uses 'repositories' holding software for installation, using 'package managers',
gui setups for accessing repositories. In your case, I think synaptic is one such tool. There are
youtube tutorials covering the basic uses.

Command: sudo synaptic ...and after the password, it should open it's gui. Press the reload button, and it will