open303 - VST3 port

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
User avatar
LAM
Established Member
Posts: 992
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 3:16 pm
Has thanked: 141 times
Been thanked: 349 times

open303 - VST3 port

Post by LAM »

https://github.com/scheffle/open303 - VST3 port of Open303

This is a VST3 port of Open303 with the following VST3 features added:

Code: Select all

silence flag (if no sound is produced, the silence flag is set so that following plug-ins don't need to process the audio data)
support for single & double precision processing
support for chord and scale events to limit the used pitches for the sequencer

Image

in mix, nobody can hear your screen

User avatar
autostatic
Established Member
Posts: 1994
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 5:26 pm
Location: Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 104 times
Contact:

Re: open303 - VST3 port

Post by autostatic »

Sweet! It even got an UI! Did an attempt to get it to build again a while ago but this is way better of course.

User avatar
Impostor
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 1:55 pm
Has thanked: 148 times
Been thanked: 366 times

Re: open303 - VST3 port

Post by Impostor »

Linux native?

There's also this:

https://github.com/midilab/jc303

User avatar
LAM
Established Member
Posts: 992
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 3:16 pm
Has thanked: 141 times
Been thanked: 349 times

Re: open303 - VST3 port

Post by LAM »

Impostor wrote: Thu Nov 16, 2023 9:37 am

Linux native?

There's also this:

https://github.com/midilab/jc303

Yes Linux native, also there is already another post about jc303. :wink:

in mix, nobody can hear your screen

tripomatic
Established Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 4:42 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: open303 - VST3 port

Post by tripomatic »

a more advanced version of 303 clone would be welcome, bit like D16's phoscyon where you can change much more parameters like glide, filter attack,...

Last edited by tripomatic on Thu Nov 16, 2023 8:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Impostor
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 1:55 pm
Has thanked: 148 times
Been thanked: 366 times

Re: open303 - VST3 port

Post by Impostor »

In Carla, modulating any parameter causes crackling...

In Renoise no crackling, but got a nasty crash..

User avatar
Impostor
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 1:55 pm
Has thanked: 148 times
Been thanked: 366 times

Re: open303 - VST3 port

Post by Impostor »

Impostor wrote: Thu Nov 16, 2023 8:12 pm

In Carla, modulating any parameter causes crackling...

In Renoise no crackling, but got a nasty crash..

Re: crackling, that only happens if I use Carla-as-a-vst2-plugin in MusE. Carla-as-a-lv2 gives no troubles.

Sinewave
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2022 10:46 pm
Has thanked: 5 times

Re: open303 - VST3 port

Post by Sinewave »

It took me a while to compile it, but it was worth it! :D :P I forgot to use the latest VST3 SDK and I got compile problems. But it dawned on me soon enough. :)

I do just like to use plain GUIless VST2 "michon" version (lesnoh's or autostatic's open303 github) with it's default CCs for Akai MPK. Same thing soundwise, but the GUI is Reaper's. It works off the bat with a CC setup on my MIDI controller. Now this one... is a bit more fun with the sequencer and slightly more parameters. This one is emulating TB-303 Devilfish modded and the original. You get to choose. "michon" one is emulating the original and sounds very interesting. Look, it's not TB-303, but often it's easy to forget that fact when using a MIDI controller, that's how close the sound is to the real thing.

Back to Open303. I'm having fun. Cheers! :wink: :mrgreen: :D

User avatar
gauderbock
Established Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:01 pm
Location: Tirol
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: open303 - VST3 port

Post by gauderbock »

EDIT: never mind, I hadn't used clone --recursive for vst3utils


Would love to try this, but running into a compilation error. Any ideas anyone?

I have the latest vst3sdk installed, along with vst3utils (as far as I can tell, the quoted gcem directory is empty which seems strange, but...)

Code: Select all

[ 90%] Building CXX object CMakeFiles/Open303.dir/Source/VST3/o303controller.cpp.o
In file included from /home/gauderbock/Downloads/git/open303/Source/VST3/o303pids.h:5,
                 from /home/fauderbock/Downloads/git/open303/Source/VST3/o303controller.cpp:1:
/home/gauderbock/Downloads/git/vst3utils/include/vst3utils/norm_plain_conversion.h:11:10: fatal error: ../../gcem/include/gcem.hpp: No such file or directory
   11 | #include "../../gcem/include/gcem.hpp"
      |          ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
compilation terminated.

User avatar
LAM
Established Member
Posts: 992
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 3:16 pm
Has thanked: 141 times
Been thanked: 349 times

Re: open303 - VST3 port

Post by LAM »

gauderbock wrote: Thu Jan 11, 2024 6:22 am

Would love to try this, but running into a compilation error. Any ideas anyone?

I have the latest vst3sdk installed, along with vst3utils (as far as I can tell, the quoted gcem directory is empty which seems strange, but...)

Code: Select all

[ 90%] Building CXX object CMakeFiles/Open303.dir/Source/VST3/o303controller.cpp.o
In file included from /home/gauderbock/Downloads/git/open303/Source/VST3/o303pids.h:5,
                 from /home/fauderbock/Downloads/git/open303/Source/VST3/o303controller.cpp:1:
/home/gauderbock/Downloads/git/vst3utils/include/vst3utils/norm_plain_conversion.h:11:10: fatal error: ../../gcem/include/gcem.hpp: No such file or directory
   11 | #include "../../gcem/include/gcem.hpp"
      |          ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
compilation terminated.

gcem is a vst3utils submodule, you cloned the vst3utils repo without

Code: Select all

--recurse-submodules

option.

You can execute

Code: Select all

git submodule update --init

inside the vst3utils folder to fix it.

in mix, nobody can hear your screen

User avatar
gauderbock
Established Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:01 pm
Location: Tirol
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: open303 - VST3 port

Post by gauderbock »

Thanks!

Post Reply