SFZ half pedal emulation

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

amc252
Established Member

SFZ half pedal emulation

Post by amc252 »

Hello everybody,

I'm still very new to the workings of SFZ
I found this example of how to simulate piano half pedal in SFZ

Code: Select all

<curve>curve_index=11
v000=0
v032=0
v042=.1
v064=.3
v072=.4
v073=1
v127=1

<group> //Sustain samples

sustain_cc=90 //re-route default sustain pedal to CC90
ampeg_dynamic=1 //allow envelope to update on CC64 change
ampeg_attack=.005 ampeg_decay=0.5 ampeg_release=.8 //initialize default envelope
ampeg_release_shape=-6 //set the sustain curve dropoff curvature
ampeg_releasecc64=15 //make maximum release time 15 seconds
ampeg_release_curvecc64=11 //use the curve_index 11

Could anyone explain to me the logic behind it and how does it work?

Thanks

amc252
Established Member

Re: SFZ half pedal emulation

Post by amc252 »

I'm still processing this information to fully (or partially) understand it, but, for those interested, here is the answer I got elsewhere:

Code: Select all

First bit is a custom curve definition. On the left is the input from 0 to 127, on the right is the output 
(normalized as 0 to 1). 
This curve "low" at first, then has a smoooth, gradual rise from 32 until 72, where it immediately and rapidly 
shoots up to 1 (full max "high") at 73 and beyond.

sustain_cc yeets sus pedal to CC90 (to be ignored or processed elsewhere?). I assume basically we're 
hijacking the sus pedal info here so we can treat it like a variable CC (0-127) rather than its frequent treatment 
as bipolar (on/off). 
This is probably to get around default sus pedal behavior in the player

ampeg_dynamic=1 I believe forces the envelope to change when CC64 changes, to allow changes while a 
note is playing. This is normally not the case.