Linux stability for music production

Practical tips for recording, editing, and mastering.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

AnthonyCFox
Established Member

Linux stability for music production

Post by AnthonyCFox »

It could be that I'm just a Linux fanboy, but I sincerely believe there is an inherent stability to the Linux kernel that can be experienced physically by the user.

I feel different when I use Windows from when I use Linux and I think much of that is due to it's stability. The Linux kernel design is optimized heavily for stability. As we know, "The internet runs on Linux"...

I think I can feel it - especially when I make music.

That's what I'm talking about. As an artist I feel more comfortable using, and just being around, machines running Linux.
It's a "vibe" I pick up on.

**I'm currently using Windows for music production, because Linux sucks at it - for me. Right now anyway.

I use Reaper and IK Multimedia products. Linux Mint is my distro of choice and it's too much of a hassle to set up and use that stuff - if it's even possible.

[I am NOT going to install Arch Linux - been there, done that - no thank you. (And forget about Guitarix and any other substitute for the IK Multimedia products [that I already own!], they don't even come close to measuring up.)]

Windows, sadly, is my best option. For now.

War, crime, disease, starvation, extreme poverty; these are serious things.
Music? Not so serious. Have some fun! :D
oddy.o.lynx
Established Member

Re: Linux stability for music production

Post by oddy.o.lynx »

I use IK Multimedia products with Wine-Staging (8.2), WINEASIO and YABRIDGE, they all work perfectly

for Guitar amps there's Toneline and Audio Assault which are excellent

https://tonelib.net/
https://audioassault.mx/

Stick with Windows if you choose, but stop whining about Linux here.

merlyn
Established Member

Post by merlyn »