Suggestions on using Stochas with MusE

MusE is a DAW for Linux with both MIDI and Audio editing. https://muse-sequencer.github.io

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, spamatica

Adm

Suggestions on using Stochas with MusE

Post by Adm »

As a novice, I'm most impressed with MusE. Although I'm having trouble with the plugins, and not yet conversant.

I was thrilled to get the Cardinal FX synth modular analogue working. Very much fun with only the odd crash.
Never managed to get Carla working, that's a query for another post sometime. Still not exactly sure what it is,
a rack patching setup it seems. There might be a Youtube intro on it.

Stochas looks rather interesting. Its only available as a VST3 I believe. I'm not sure if MusE can yet use VST3.
https://github.com/surge-synthesizer/stochas/releases

Can anyone suggest if I might have success using Stochas with MusE one day?

Impostor
Established Member

Re: Suggestions on using Stochas with MusE

Post by Impostor »

Currently, the answer is either:

1. Use Stochas vst3 inside Carla plugin in musE, or
  2. Use the standalone + MusE with a bit of midi routing with QJackCtl or equivalent, or
  3. Use another, vst3 capable, host (eg. Renoise).

SInce MusE is a wonderful midi sequencer, my advice is to get Carla working.

Impostor
Established Member

Post by Impostor »

Adm wrote: Fri Apr 07, 2023 11:11 am

Never managed to get Carla working, that's a query for another post sometime. Still not exactly sure what it is,
a rack patching setup it seems.

Carla is a plugin host (ladsppa, dssi, lv2, vst, vst3, jsfx, clap, sf2), and itself has a plugin version (lv2,vst) too. It comes both as a patchbay variant (connect anything to anything) and a rack variant (linear chain).