Checking for clipping through CLI - inconsistencies

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Valso
Established Member

Checking for clipping through CLI - inconsistencies

Post by Valso »

Hi, everyone. I'm not a musician but you could say I'm an audiophile cuz I want everything to be in the highest possible quality. Recently I noticed some of my music has clipping, so using Audacity I fixed them (some of them even became perfect, as if there was never any clipping). But I wanna check ALL of my music (which is 65GB+ all in WAV format). Through internet search I found this forum and to be precise - this old topic: viewtopic.php?t=15359 But these scripts in the topic don't work at all, so I kept looking and came across this (the screenshot is from DuckDuckGo):

You'd think I've found the answer... BUT! The above screenshot says that the file can have its volume increased by the number of volume adjustment without causing any clipping. However, checking a WAV track with Audacity, it already has clipping (the red color is clipping). According to this:

Code: Select all

[rado@arch]: /media/1000GB/MUSIC/WAV/HIP-HOP/BUSTA RHYMES>$ sox "Busta Rhymes - You Got It.wav" -n stat
Samples read:          19877928
Length (seconds):    225.373333
Scaled by:         2147483647.0
Maximum amplitude:     0.999969
Minimum amplitude:    -1.000000
Midline amplitude:    -0.000015
Mean    norm:          0.430396
Mean    amplitude:    -0.000396
RMS     amplitude:     0.541564
Maximum delta:         1.999969
Minimum delta:         0.000000
Mean    delta:         0.073677
RMS     delta:         0.128976
Rough   frequency:         1671
Volume adjustment:        1.000