Poweramps available in Linux

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Boone777
Established Member

Poweramps available in Linux

Post by Boone777 »

I installed Gx guitarix bundle to use in Reaper but I cant find any independent poweramp in it. Like what is the name of the poweramp in the bundle I would use with Redeye preamp ?

And also what are other native alternatives?

Last edited by Boone777 on Fri Dec 02, 2022 12:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
paulmerchant
Established Member

Re: Poweramps available in Linux

Post by paulmerchant »

I don't use Guitarix much these days, but I just started playing with https://guitarml.com/#products. I like some of the tones. And there are Linux native and open source plugins.

Boone777
Established Member

Post by Boone777 »

To my knowledge they don't have a separate poweramp.

Audiojunkie
Established Member

Post by Audiojunkie »

If I understand correctly, you installed the GxPlugins.lv2 package, which doesn't appear to have an independent poweramp plugin like the Guitarix Standalone package has. Is that correct?

I know that Guitarix standalone has the poweramp functionality because it is mentioned here:

viewtopic.php?t=21375&start=15

If all of this is true, and I am understanding everything correctly, I would recommend finding an alternative poweramp plugin that you could fit into your plugin chain where the poweramp should go. One option that I found comes from the Airwindows suite:

https://www.airwindows.com/powersag/

To my understanding, the most important part of the poweramp in amp modeling is modeling the sag response that comes from a real power amp. This plugin, I believe does that. Hopefully, it is the missing part you are searching for. :-)

Incidentally, to add to your guitar plugin tool kit, I highly recommend the rest of the Airwindows guitar plugins, as well as the the C* Audio Plugin Suite:

http://quitte.de/dsp/caps.html