jack_iodelay gives varying results

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Matt73
Established Member

jack_iodelay gives varying results

Post by Matt73 »

Hello Good People,

Begging for help yet again as I stubbornly persist with the Linux nightmare hoping to see some light. I'm an artist and not a natural nerd so I have chosen a hard road but my hatred of big tech keep sme on linux . Plus I like to finally work things out. I'm stubborn like that. Anyway, the latency compensation feature in the my DAW gives wildly different readings depending on whether the system has been rebooted or if JACK has been restarted. I mean it varies wildly. Sometimes it even gives a minus reading. How is that possible? And sometimes it gives 1ms and sometime 11.9ms and everything in between. Why does it wildly fluctuate like that?

I also did an experiment with jack_iodelay and that gave different readings too! One time it gave a reading of 26 and another time it gave like a 7 digit number for the same parameter.

Losing my mind here. Please God someone help me.

Best

Matt

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member

Re: jack_iodelay gives varying results

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

Have you tuned (ie, adjusted various system settings) your computer for the lowest possible audio latency? Or are you just using some generic linux distro not specifically setup for low latency audio recording?

Also, badly designed drivers/hardware tend to be a frequent cause of timing fluctuations. For example, NVidia video cards are too often a source of audio performance degradation on Linux.

Author of BackupBand at https://sourceforge.net/projects/backupband/files/
My fans show their support by mentioning my name in their signature.

Matt73
Established Member

Post by Matt73 »

Hello,