Does anyone use a trackball mouse?

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

sysrqer
Established Member

Does anyone use a trackball mouse?

Post by sysrqer »

Been struggling with wrist aches and pain for a while so I decided to try a vertical mouse. The pain is relieved but I'm getting strain in other parts of my arm and I think it's because the mouse is too small for my large hand and it's very supportive.

I'm trying to decide between buying a better vertical mouse and a trackball mouse. The vertical one I'm considering (Logitech MX Vertical) looks very useful with the multi device support but in design and shape it is similar to the Anker one I have now.

I have never used a trackball mouse before and I'm worried that it would be inaccurate and frustrating to use. I don't game and the most mouse intensive thing I do is clicking around a DAW so do any of you have experience with these in music production?
d.healey
Established Member

Re: Does anyone use a trackball mouse?

Post by d.healey »

I've been using a trackball for about 20 years. The best one I had was a wired Logitech one but they no longer make wired ones. My current one is the MX Ergo. I've tried some of the unknown brand ones from Amazon and haven't found any to be as good as the Logitech ones. I've also used some Kingston ones but I prefer the thumb control rather than the ball in the centre and Logitech seems best for that.

There are no accuracy issues once you get used to it and some of them have a dpi switch so you can get super high accuracy when doing detail work - I think this is mainly for image editing, I never use it.

I have no problems using it for games either although that's not something I do often. In a DAW you'll have no issues - some Pro-Tools studios have a trackball built into the console.
David Healey
YouTube - Free HISE scripting and sample library dev tutorials
Libre Wave - Freedom respecting instruments and effects.
merlyn