Hello from newbie bass player who started late

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

SpringChicken

Hello from newbie bass player who started late

Post by SpringChicken »

Hello, I started playing bass later in life in my late 40s. I started about six weeks ago and really enjoying it.

I've joined here because I need to start recording myself for a few reasons but have no idea where to start. All I have is my bass and amp and nothing else. I kept seeing everyone I know using a Focusrite Scarlett but they're not Linux users, so I'm in research mode meets information overload at the moment. I'm running Debian stable (bullseye). Hoping there's a simple but great option!
folderol
Established Member

Re: Hello from newbie bass player who started late

Post by folderol »

Welcome here.
The thing to look for if you're using USB audio units is the statement:
"Class Compliant".
This means you won't need any drivers and it will be plug-and-play.
The Yoshimi guy {apparently now an 'elderly'}
Michael Willis
Established Member

Post by Michael Willis »

Hi! Plenty of people here use Focusrite devices without trouble. There was even some recent effort to build kernel drivers specifically for some of the Focusrite devices.

Of course @folderol gives good advice. You don't have to look for a specific brand, just make sure the device is class compliant. I used to have an M-Audio interface that worked just fine, and other people have reported that the Behringer interfaces work.