Nice article on Flatpak, Snap, AppImage, Docker and Steam

What other apps and distros do you use to round out your studio?

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Linuxmusician01
Established Member

Nice article on Flatpak, Snap, AppImage, Docker and Steam

Post by Linuxmusician01 »

Recently there's some discussion here in unrelated topics on the future of distributing or developping software for Linux in such a way that it's compatible with more than one distro or distro version. I've no experience with that. Nowadays I tend to stay away from compiling from source or using repo's other than the ones that come with my distro out of the box.

However, every now and then one unfortunately needs the latest version of a certain application. To not be forced to upgrade your distro to a newer version there are a few "solutions". They provide a "package" of needed libraries and the application/binary itself. There's:
  • Flatpak
  • Snap
  • AppImage
  • Docker
  • Steam
Like many kow: they include or download libraries so the app can be run in a sandbox. If you use a few of these "solutions" to not upgrade distro then your hard drive might become full because not all libraries are shared between packs (even though they promise to do so). And they might eat more RAM than you'd like.

It's explained in this nice article.

I think that these "packs" might be useful a last resort only. For example: I might want try the all new and improved version of Evolution Mail/Groupware suite that actually support Google's latest way to irate computer users all over the wold: their new inaccessible API for your contacts.

Other than agreeing upon a "default" OS like Debian Stable or something to develop for (as has been sort of advocated here) what do you think is the least bad "solution", if any?
Last edited by Linuxmusician01 on Tue Sep 06, 2022 9:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Largos
Established Member

Re: Nice article on Flatpak, Snap, AppImage, Docker and Steam

Post by Largos »