Does Tyrell N6 use a lot of CPU?

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Does Tyrell N6 use a lot of CPU?

Post by merlyn »

I tried out u-he Tyrell N6 available here :

https://www.amazona.de/freeware-synth-tyrell-n6-v3-03/

It's using a lot of DSP, way more than other synths, especially the preset that it loads up with -- 'Chapter 3'.

I'm wondering if anyone else who has tried it has found that preset heavy on CPU.

Baggypants
Established Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: Does Tyrell N6 use a lot of CPU?

Post by Baggypants »

Pretty much all of u-he vsts are cpu heavy and use a lot of DSP processing. DSPs are tricky things to program I believe, so most people don't. The flip side of that is u-he plugins tend to sound really good because they have the expertise.

User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 1194
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Contact:

Re: Does Tyrell N6 use a lot of CPU?

Post by lilith »

Zebra and Hive are quite low on the CPU. I think Tyrell is more heavy and comparable with Diva. But this of course depends on the presets.
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93
latest: https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93/deeper-and-deeper
_____________________________
Debian 10 - BUSTER (XFCE) & KXStudio repos

User avatar
AlexTheBassist
Established Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 3:44 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Does Tyrell N6 use a lot of CPU?

Post by AlexTheBassist »

Any decent synth is CPU heavy, except for ZynAddSubFX, which also can be quite a resource hog if too many stuff is used. There's no magic.
Being creative does not imply being lazy, stupid, or illiterate.

Working in Harrison Mixbus and Ardour on KDE Neon + KXStudio.

Post Reply