ardour: drumgizmo midimap doesn't work

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

hdr
Established Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:47 pm

ardour: drumgizmo midimap doesn't work

Postby hdr » Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:40 pm

Hey,

I'm using ardour with drumgizmo as drumplugin. Although I loaded the corresponding midimap.xml file to the drumgizmo plugin it doesn't show the name of the instrument - see screenshot. It only shows the note 'F#2'
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

empowerg
Established Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: ardour: drumgizmo midimap doesn't work

Postby empowerg » Thu Feb 14, 2019 6:04 pm

hdr wrote:Hey,

I'm using ardour with drumgizmo as drumplugin. Although I loaded the corresponding midimap.xml file to the drumgizmo plugin it doesn't show the name of the instrument - see screenshot. It only shows the note 'F#2'


Unfortunately, that is not how Ardour and Drumgizmo work. The midimap file is only for drumgizmo itself, so it does know which instrument to play for which note. It does not provide names for Ardour.

Ardour can (sort of) do this with midnam files (see here at the bottom of the page: http://manual.ardour.org/working-with-midi/patch-change/), but I think nobody has created them for Drumgizmo kits yet. I myself haven't had a look at them yet. I think they are similar like MuSE's drum maps (which I have created for drumgizmo kits) which are easy to create and use. That's one of the reasons why I use MuSE to program drums for Drumgizmo and then export the MIDI and import into Ardour for further processing.

lg,
Michael

carlv
Established Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:10 pm

Re: ardour: drumgizmo midimap doesn't work

Postby carlv » Fri Feb 15, 2019 12:37 pm

hdr wrote:Hey,

I'm using ardour with drumgizmo as drumplugin. Although I loaded the corresponding midimap.xml file to the drumgizmo plugin it doesn't show the name of the instrument - see screenshot. It only shows the note 'F#2'


You need to select it in the pull-down.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

hdr
Established Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:47 pm

Re: ardour: drumgizmo midimap doesn't work

Postby hdr » Sat Mar 09, 2019 4:56 pm

I cannot select it :(
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

carlv
Established Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:10 pm

Re: ardour: drumgizmo midimap doesn't work

Postby carlv » Sun Mar 10, 2019 8:12 am

hdr wrote:I cannot select it :(


Check to see if you have the midnam files installed.
Also have a look here: viewtopic.php?f=57&t=18993&hilit=midnam...
in-> Home/.config/ardour5/patchfiles.
Screenshot from 2019-03-10 09-03-32.png

Workspace 1_002.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

hdr
Established Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:47 pm

Re: ardour: drumgizmo midimap doesn't work

Postby hdr » Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:55 am

Ok, I didn't know that.
Now it's working. Thanks a lot.

carlv
Established Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:10 pm

Re: ardour: drumgizmo midimap doesn't work

Postby carlv » Sun Mar 10, 2019 2:15 pm

1stly, apologies. For some reason i thought these had been included in the latest release. Glad you're rollin'.


Return to “Plugins, Effects and Instruments”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests