No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Official support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/

Moderators: falkTX, MattKingUSA, khz

rotindo
Established Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby rotindo » Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:45 am

Aleks wrote:Well. I guess this is not much of a help, but several times I decided that the least complicated solution is to reinstall the whole OS. That's why my home folder is always on a separate partition.


Yes, I know this could be a solution. Indeed, I use it quite regularly. But now is not a good time for me to be that radical :(

rotindo
Established Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby rotindo » Sat Apr 28, 2018 10:17 am

sysrqer wrote:Could you post the output of

Code: Select all

pacmd list-sinks | grep -e 'name:' -e 'index'

Unless I'm reading your post incorrectly it seems that the hardware works when you choose the correct output so I would guess that pulseaudio is set to use the wrong output - see https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pu ... put_source
This would make sense because if you're getting no errors from pulseaudio then it it would suggest that there isn't a problem with it running as such.
Did you check in alsamixer to see if anything is muted? I scanned the posts but didn't see any mention of it but sorry if you already have.


Yes, I checked alsamixer :wink: But everything was on. I even cracked all volumes up to the max. To no avail.

Good reasoning about PulseAudio not issuing errors! So:

Code: Select all

$ pacmd list-sinks | grep -e 'name:' -e 'index'
  * index: 0
        name: <alsa_output.platform-snd_aloop.0.analog-stereo>
    index: 1
        name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo>


As suggested in the Arch Wiki, I tried to “set-default-sink”. That's much better thanks!

I did my tests on VLC again and here are the new results:

1. if I configure it so that the “Audio Preference Output Module” is “PulseAudio audio output”, VLC proposes me two “Audio Devices”
1.a. with “Loopback Analog Stereo” I still get no sound
1.b. with “Built-in Audio Analog Stereo” I get sound … That's new, great!

2. if I configure it so that the “Audio Preference Output Module” is “ALSA”, VLC proposes me many “Audio Devices”
2.a. with the “Playback/Recording through PulseAudio server” (which it selects by default) I get sound … That's new, great!
2.b. with “HDA Intel ALC889 Analog Default Audio Device” and most of the others (except Loopbacks) I get sound as previously

SMPLayer works fine with both “alsa” and “pulse” “Audio Output Driver” but don't with the more specific “pulse (0 - < alsa_output.platform-snd_aloop.0.analog-stereo>)” and “pulse (1 - <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog.stereo>)”. This very last result is quite strange as we just determined it is the correct sink. But in a way, whatever…

So thanks!

I'll now try and test what happens when JACK comes back in the equation.

rotindo
Established Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby rotindo » Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:59 am

Firing up JACK while ALSA and PulseAudio are running…

I first try with the “ALSA -> PulseAudio -> JACK (Plugin)” bridge (in Cadence.JACK Bridges.ALSA Audio). And I have no more sound.

Two possible clues:

1. If i run an aplay command, I don't get any error message but aplay stalls. I have to manually abort it (<ctrl>+c)

2.a. If I start JACK after PulseAudio I get, as I do since I tweaked the "set-default-sink", ie.

Code: Select all

$ pacmd list-sinks | grep -e 'name:' -e 'index'
  * index: 0
        name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo>
    index: 1
        name: <alsa_output.platform-snd_aloop.0.analog-stereo>


2.b. But if I start JACK before PulseAudio, I lose my prefered sink:

Code: Select all

  * index: 0
        name: <alsa_output.platform-snd_aloop.0.analog-stereo>


Any idea?

User avatar
sysrqer
Established Member
Posts: 1662
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby sysrqer » Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:28 am

This might be something best answered by falktx, I've noticed similar (and other) things with cadence and pulseaudio so I no longer use it.
You could give qjackctl a try with these instructions - viewtopic.php?f=19&t=13234&hilit=pulseaudio+Tramp#p58043
It looks a bit complicated but it's pretty simple really. I still use catia for routing though.

federicobriata
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby federicobriata » Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:33 pm

Hi all,
I run into the same problem.
I had this issue with Debian stretch, on another partition with Ubuntu 16.04 after the update had the same problem.

Do you know what I can downgrade to workaround this issue?

@falkTX, I tried with catia but it''s empty.
Have you been able to reproduce this issue?

regards,
Federico

FawkesThat
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:24 am

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby FawkesThat » Sat Jan 26, 2019 7:20 pm

It's apparent you've got JACK and ALSA installed and working, but what about PulseAudio? I'm assuming installed, but perhaps not all the relevant bits.
Can you install and try to start pavucontrol?
If you get "Establishing connection to PulseAudio. Please wait..." Pulseaudio definitely isn't running.
If it starts displaying mixer controls, but they do not have Jack sink/source items - similar to those shown here - you may be missing some modules.
Image.

To check for the right modules:

Code: Select all

fawkes~$ pulseaudio --dump-modules | grep jack
module-jack-sink                        JACK Sink
module-jack-source                      JACK Source
module-jackdbus-detect                  Adds JACK sink/source ports when JACK is started

If you don't get those jack modules, check you have pulseaudio-module-jack installed.
I'm currently running the KXStudio 'bits' on top of KDE Neon. Underlying it all is Debian. However, I know the KXStudio repositories don't require absolutely everything needed to make it run optimally. Cadence is a nice little audio manager and launcher when you're only sometimes needing the power of Jack. Especially when you get this particular bit running properly.

The full list of pulseaudio modules I have installed is as follows:

Code: Select all

pulseaudio pulseaudio-module-bluetooth pulseaudio-module-gconf pulseaudiomodule-jack pulseaudio-utils libpulsedsp libcanberra-pulse libpulse0 libpulse-mainloop-glib0 libpulse0:i386 pavucontrol libqtmultimedia5-plugins

I don't know if having other PulseAudio modules installed may be a problem.
I note a zero configuration one, which I'd suspect might interfere with getting PulseAudio cooperating with Jack. As a rather extreme solution, you could purge and reinstall the pulseaudio module. Just watch what that's going to remove because of dependencies. Reinstalling it along with all the jack-related modules is just a quick'n'dirty attempt to knock the configuration into a state Cadence and Jack will work with.


Return to “KXStudio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests