Start JACK without X

Post fully complete "how to" guides and tutorials here. This is a great place to get feedback on stuff you might put in the wiki.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

f00bar
Established Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:40 pm

Start JACK without X

Postby f00bar » Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:00 am

Is it possible to start jack without X? If so, how?

I have an old PII Deschutes 256 MB ram with an old PCI soundcard TurtleBeach Montego (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turtle_Beach_Systems#mediaviewer/File:Tbmontegoa3dxstream.jpg) which has some nice sounds. Currently I [em]can[/em] play on that synthesizer without too long latency through a background process that receives MIDI channel message from the network and passes the to the soundcard. Audio is fed back by an analog cable. I want to replace the current OS on that machine (Windows 4.1.2222 A) with some Linux distro to make the system more reliable. On top of the Linux distro, I want to run JACK and a JACK client that replaces the current background process. Ideally, I would like to feed audio back through network also.

Anyway, it seams like need X somehow, and the machine does not have any display, so I do not need X but SSH.

User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Contact:

Re: Start JACK without X

Postby raboof » Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:22 am

f00bar wrote:Is it possible to start jack without X? If so, how?


It won't be as convenient, but you can manually start jackd from the commandline: http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/luc ... ckd.1.html

I wonder though if it'd be possible to write a script that captures the sounds in that card and makes a soundfont out of that - or does it do any fancy things that aren't so easy to capture?

f00bar
Established Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:40 pm

Re: Start JACK without X

Postby f00bar » Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:33 am

raboof wrote:
f00bar wrote:Is it possible to start jack without X? If so, how?

It won't be as convenient, but you can manually start jackd from the commandline: http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/luc ... ckd.1.html


I start jackd that way. But if X is not running, it fails to start. You can verify this by logging out from your graphical session and then log in VT1 (CTRL-ALT-F1). Trying to launch jack

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/jackd --sync -P80 -p128 -dalsa -dhw:UA25 -r48000 -p64 -n3 -Xraw &

fails because DISPLAY is not set

raboof wrote:I wonder though if it'd be possible to write a script that captures the sounds in that card and makes a soundfont out of that - or does it do any fancy things that aren't so easy to capture?


It has a strange "Halo Pad" sounds like some noisy waveform fed through a highly resonant filter modulated by an LFO. It is a wavetable synth.

f00bar
Established Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:40 pm

Re: Start JACK without X

Postby f00bar » Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:45 pm

falkTX wrote:if you try to start jackd on a build that uses jackd + jackdbus (the most common), you'll need a trick to make it work:

Code: Select all

export DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:path=/run/dbus/system_bus_socket


Can I install the most common build without X.

f00bar
Established Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:40 pm

Re: Start JACK without X

Postby f00bar » Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:03 am

falkTX wrote:you mean this?

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install jackd2

Yes, but will tell me that I need dbus and a bunch of other things not related to audio at all?

User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Contact:

Re: Start JACK without X

Postby raboof » Fri Aug 15, 2014 4:18 pm

f00bar wrote:
falkTX wrote:you mean this?

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install jackd2

Yes, but will tell me that I need dbus and a bunch of other things not related to audio at all?

You could also choose to use jackd1 rather than jackd2 - AFAIK that doesn't have that dbus dependency, and if I'm not mistaken both are still actively maintained.

asbak
Established Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:04 pm

Re: Start JACK without X

Postby asbak » Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:32 pm

Somewhat related question, is there a way to manually override jackdbus from ever loading? I saw it mentioned somewhere that one could compile jackd2 without DBUS support but assuming I just want to use vanilla jackd2 from KXStudio's repository, is it possible to de-activate jackdbus somehow, apart from manually killing the process?

varpa
Established Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:40 pm

Re: Start JACK without X

Postby varpa » Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:08 pm

As far as I can tell there is no problem stopping jack from running with jackdbus with "jack_control stop" and then starting jackd yourself. My current version of using kxstudio is to have cadence (=jackdus) run by default using my built-in (laptop) audio card. When I plug in my firewire interface I start qjackctl via a script which first stops jackdbus (jack_control stop) and then starts up jack. I use this method because my script automatically detects the firewire card and starts qjackctl with my firewire preset.

f00bar
Established Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:40 pm

Re: Start JACK without X

Postby f00bar » Tue Oct 28, 2014 2:28 pm

I have found out that by using

ssh -Y user@machine

I get the X display locally. That is fine.


Return to “HOW TOs, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests