No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Unofficial support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

rotindo
Established Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby rotindo » Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:45 am

Aleks wrote:Well. I guess this is not much of a help, but several times I decided that the least complicated solution is to reinstall the whole OS. That's why my home folder is always on a separate partition.


Yes, I know this could be a solution. Indeed, I use it quite regularly. But now is not a good time for me to be that radical :(

rotindo
Established Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby rotindo » Sat Apr 28, 2018 10:17 am

sysrqer wrote:Could you post the output of

Code: Select all

pacmd list-sinks | grep -e 'name:' -e 'index'

Unless I'm reading your post incorrectly it seems that the hardware works when you choose the correct output so I would guess that pulseaudio is set to use the wrong output - see https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pu ... put_source
This would make sense because if you're getting no errors from pulseaudio then it it would suggest that there isn't a problem with it running as such.
Did you check in alsamixer to see if anything is muted? I scanned the posts but didn't see any mention of it but sorry if you already have.


Yes, I checked alsamixer :wink: But everything was on. I even cracked all volumes up to the max. To no avail.

Good reasoning about PulseAudio not issuing errors! So:

Code: Select all

$ pacmd list-sinks | grep -e 'name:' -e 'index'
  * index: 0
        name: <alsa_output.platform-snd_aloop.0.analog-stereo>
    index: 1
        name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo>


As suggested in the Arch Wiki, I tried to “set-default-sink”. That's much better thanks!

I did my tests on VLC again and here are the new results:

1. if I configure it so that the “Audio Preference Output Module” is “PulseAudio audio output”, VLC proposes me two “Audio Devices”
1.a. with “Loopback Analog Stereo” I still get no sound
1.b. with “Built-in Audio Analog Stereo” I get sound … That's new, great!

2. if I configure it so that the “Audio Preference Output Module” is “ALSA”, VLC proposes me many “Audio Devices”
2.a. with the “Playback/Recording through PulseAudio server” (which it selects by default) I get sound … That's new, great!
2.b. with “HDA Intel ALC889 Analog Default Audio Device” and most of the others (except Loopbacks) I get sound as previously

SMPLayer works fine with both “alsa” and “pulse” “Audio Output Driver” but don't with the more specific “pulse (0 - < alsa_output.platform-snd_aloop.0.analog-stereo>)” and “pulse (1 - <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog.stereo>)”. This very last result is quite strange as we just determined it is the correct sink. But in a way, whatever…

So thanks!

I'll now try and test what happens when JACK comes back in the equation.

rotindo
Established Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby rotindo » Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:59 am

Firing up JACK while ALSA and PulseAudio are running…

I first try with the “ALSA -> PulseAudio -> JACK (Plugin)” bridge (in Cadence.JACK Bridges.ALSA Audio). And I have no more sound.

Two possible clues:

1. If i run an aplay command, I don't get any error message but aplay stalls. I have to manually abort it (<ctrl>+c)

2.a. If I start JACK after PulseAudio I get, as I do since I tweaked the "set-default-sink", ie.

Code: Select all

$ pacmd list-sinks | grep -e 'name:' -e 'index'
  * index: 0
        name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo>
    index: 1
        name: <alsa_output.platform-snd_aloop.0.analog-stereo>


2.b. But if I start JACK before PulseAudio, I lose my prefered sink:

Code: Select all

  * index: 0
        name: <alsa_output.platform-snd_aloop.0.analog-stereo>


Any idea?

User avatar
sysrqer
Established Member
Posts: 1835
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby sysrqer » Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:28 am

This might be something best answered by falktx, I've noticed similar (and other) things with cadence and pulseaudio so I no longer use it.
You could give qjackctl a try with these instructions - viewtopic.php?f=19&t=13234&hilit=pulseaudio+Tramp#p58043
It looks a bit complicated but it's pretty simple really. I still use catia for routing though.

federicobriata
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:05 pm

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby federicobriata » Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:33 pm

Hi all,
I run into the same problem.
I had this issue with Debian stretch, on another partition with Ubuntu 16.04 after the update had the same problem.

Do you know what I can downgrade to workaround this issue?

@falkTX, I tried with catia but it''s empty.
Have you been able to reproduce this issue?

regards,
Federico

FawkesThat
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:24 am

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby FawkesThat » Sat Jan 26, 2019 7:20 pm

It's apparent you've got JACK and ALSA installed and working, but what about PulseAudio? I'm assuming installed, but perhaps not all the relevant bits.
Can you install and try to start pavucontrol?
If you get "Establishing connection to PulseAudio. Please wait..." Pulseaudio definitely isn't running.
If it starts displaying mixer controls, but they do not have Jack sink/source items - similar to those shown here - you may be missing some modules.
Image.

To check for the right modules:

Code: Select all

fawkes~$ pulseaudio --dump-modules | grep jack
module-jack-sink                        JACK Sink
module-jack-source                      JACK Source
module-jackdbus-detect                  Adds JACK sink/source ports when JACK is started

If you don't get those jack modules, check you have pulseaudio-module-jack installed.
I'm currently running the KXStudio 'bits' on top of KDE Neon. Underlying it all is Debian. However, I know the KXStudio repositories don't require absolutely everything needed to make it run optimally. Cadence is a nice little audio manager and launcher when you're only sometimes needing the power of Jack. Especially when you get this particular bit running properly.

The full list of pulseaudio modules I have installed is as follows:

Code: Select all

pulseaudio pulseaudio-module-bluetooth pulseaudio-module-gconf pulseaudiomodule-jack pulseaudio-utils libpulsedsp libcanberra-pulse libpulse0 libpulse-mainloop-glib0 libpulse0:i386 pavucontrol libqtmultimedia5-plugins

I don't know if having other PulseAudio modules installed may be a problem.
I note a zero configuration one, which I'd suspect might interfere with getting PulseAudio cooperating with Jack. As a rather extreme solution, you could purge and reinstall the pulseaudio module. Just watch what that's going to remove because of dependencies. Reinstalling it along with all the jack-related modules is just a quick'n'dirty attempt to knock the configuration into a state Cadence and Jack will work with.

lilakmonoke
Established Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:47 am

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby lilakmonoke » Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:01 pm

i think i have a related problem so i post it here:

after a few updates and a new kernel i had a complete system collapse so i did a fresh xubuntu 18.04 install and pulseaudio was running swell. then i installed cadence out of the repositories and since then pulseaudio doesnt show up at startup.

if i run cadence from a shell and try to start pulse audio from there i get:

Code: Select all

E: [pulseaudio] main.c: Daemon startup failed.
Failed to initialize PulseAudio!


if i start pulseaudio from a shell with "pulseaudio -D" it starts up but then it is not bridged in cadence and doesnt show up in catia. )-: this sucks because there are lots of files installed with cadence and i cant reverse back the system in synaptic. which is really missing in linux! im 10 minutes away from reinstalling windows but on second thoughts NO ;-)

any hints?

User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Contact:

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby lilith » Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:24 pm

lilakmonoke wrote:i think i have a related problem so i post it here:

after a few updates and a new kernel i had a complete system collapse so i did a fresh xubuntu 18.04 install and pulseaudio was running swell. then i installed cadence out of the repositories and since then pulseaudio doesnt show up at startup.

if i run cadence from a shell and try to start pulse audio from there i get:

Code: Select all

E: [pulseaudio] main.c: Daemon startup failed.
Failed to initialize PulseAudio!


if i start pulseaudio from a shell with "pulseaudio -D" it starts up but then it is not bridged in cadence and doesnt show up in catia. )-: this sucks because there are lots of files installed with cadence and i cant reverse back the system in synaptic. which is really missing in linux! im 10 minutes away from reinstalling windows but on second thoughts NO ;-)

any hints?


Here someone mentioned to delete the pulse config file: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=159605
Maybe that helps?
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93
latest: https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93/days-of-terror
_____________________________
Debian 9 (XFCE) & KXStudio repos

lilakmonoke
Established Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:47 am

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby lilakmonoke » Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:53 pm

yes just tried that, same thing. i have to start up pulseaudio from a shell and not from cadence but then no bridge. somehow cadence is not starting up pulse correctly. could this be an ownership problem of the process? im running all this from my account and not root and im in the audio group.

User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Contact:

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby lilith » Fri Jun 28, 2019 11:23 pm

Have you " "pulseaudio-module-jack"" installed?
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93
latest: https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93/days-of-terror
_____________________________
Debian 9 (XFCE) & KXStudio repos

lilakmonoke
Established Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:47 am

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby lilakmonoke » Sat Jun 29, 2019 12:23 am

you are right, that did the trick, thanks! now, why isnt that included in cadence? from now on, im not updating that setup any more.

User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Contact:

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby lilith » Sat Jun 29, 2019 6:13 pm

lilakmonoke wrote:you are right, that did the trick, thanks! now, why isnt that included in cadence? from now on, im not updating that setup any more.


Great to hear it's working now. Typically there shouldn't be any problems with updates.
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93
latest: https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93/days-of-terror
_____________________________
Debian 9 (XFCE) & KXStudio repos

User avatar
thetotalchaos
Established Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 8:29 pm
Contact:

Re: No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio

Postby thetotalchaos » Tue Jul 16, 2019 6:36 pm

No more sound after update, probably related to PulseAudio


I said that before, and i will say it again. The "pulseaudio issues" are not caused by Pulseaudio itself, but by Cadence, being not sufficiently tested to work with PA. The app makes a lot of assumptions, that are not always correct. Also it makes some configurations on top of other. For example it makes ~/.pulse folder, instead of using the correct ~/.config/pulse folder.
In order to have a smooth and proper running pulseaudio on top of Cadence you need to do a few things.

- Make sure that your user is in 'audio' group
- Make sure that pulseaudio-module-jack or your distro equivalent is installed
- Make sure that pulseaudio is started from Cadence, not before Cadence and certainly not simultaneously during boot.
- Make sure that your sound card is always your first audio device, recognized by your operating system
- Make sure that you are using jack2 with dbus mode activated by default
- Make sure that your volume control app is regulating the ALSA volume, not the Pulseaudio volume. Because it will not affect the applications that are connected to jack directly. You can optionally install pavucontrol because it gives you more functionalities for Pulseaudio
- Sometimes it is not required to generate ~/.asound.conf file, to have successful pulse-jack bridge. An incorrectly configured file can cause unnecessary troubles.

In this article i wrote a few tips that can be helpful, to configure Cadence to work properly with Pulseaudio:
https://www.linuxmusicians.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=17780&p=87243&hilit=cadence+pulseaudio+cadence+tips#p87243

Best regards, Totalchaos
Check out my latest music album The girl with the stars in her eyes
https://totalchaos-music.bandcamp.com/album/the-girl-with-the-stars-in-her-eyes


Return to “KXStudio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests