Controlling volume to separate outputs?

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
dchurch24
Established Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:44 pm

Controlling volume to separate outputs?

Post by dchurch24 »

Hi all,

I've recently bought a Edirol DA-2496 with 8 inputs and 8 outputs and with Ardour, Jack, etc... it works great.

I'd like to record my band 'live' and have purchased a bundle of headphones and connected them to the outputs.

I can't seem to find a way to increase one input volume to just one output, for example, if the band come and record, and the drummer say, says "Hey Dave, can you give me a bit more lead guitar in my headphones?" how would I go about doing that?

Frank Carvalho
Established Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:36 pm

Re: Controlling volume to separate outputs?

Post by Frank Carvalho »

Assuming you record using Ardour, then I would make an Ardour bus per monitor channel, and have sends on each input channel to for each monitor bus. That way you can make totally individual mixes for each band member, and the bus volume acts as master volume for the monitor channel.

/Frank
Vox, Selmer, Yamaha and Leslie amplifiers. Rickenbacker, Epiphone, Ibanez, Washburn, Segovia, Yamaha and Fender guitars. Hammond, Moog, Roland, Korg, Yamaha, Crumar, Ensoniq and Mellotron keyboards. Xubuntu+KXStudio recording setup.

dchurch24
Established Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:44 pm

Re: Controlling volume to separate outputs?

Post by dchurch24 »

You, Sir, are a gentleman and a scholar!

Such as simple answer...works perfectly.

Thank you!

Post Reply