Any Rhodes emulator?

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
flagos
Established Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:56 pm

Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by flagos »

Hi.

Anyone knows about a Rhodes emulator out there?

Currently I'm running Hexter in Ubuntu.

Thanks!!

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

What about a sampled rhodes? Try the stereo rhodes here: http://www.bandshed.net/sounds/sfz/stereo_rhodes.zip

flagos
Established Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:56 pm

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by flagos »

Hey Jeffg, thanks for the answer.

How can I use the samples? Is there any Ubuntu application where I can use those wavs?

Thanks!!

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

Load it up in Linuxsampler using a gui such as JSampler http://www.linuxsampler.org/jsampler/ma ... mpler.html

just set the instrument to load as "sfx" instead of "sf2" or "gig".

DepreTux
Established Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:36 am

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by DepreTux »

there's the mda epiano too.

It's simple and effective. Just another alternative.

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1429
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by glowrak guy »

Hexter dssi synth, DX7 at heart, with tons of sysex files from the olden days,
it will hold three 32 patch banks, light on cpu, great to sculpt dream e pianos.

http://homepages.abdn.ac.uk/mth192/pages/html/dx7.html

scroll down for sysex archives. Simple to load them in Hexter, place them
in a folder, and browse to it from Hexter's import sysex menu

Hexter is in the list here: https://packages.debian.org/unstable/sound/

Cheers

lazyklimm
Established Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:59 pm

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by lazyklimm »

pianoteq

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by ssj71 »

I've used this sample set a bit:
http://learjeff.net/sf/sf.html
Can load it in Qsynth.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

tatch
Established Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:18 pm

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by tatch »

if gui is an issue for you could also try dexed instead of hexter https://github.com/asb2m10/dexed

carla can load sfzs automatically too using linuxsampler. all of those are available in the kxstudio repositories http://kxstudio.sourceforge.net/Repositories

User avatar
studio32
Established Member
Posts: 2403
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by studio32 »

Zynaddsubfx hexter pianoteq

User avatar
GMaq
Established Member
Posts: 1478
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by GMaq »

A DX7 or emulator of one is not in the same universe as a genuine Rhodes (or Wurlitzer for that matter). Admittedly I'm not a fan of the DX7 or many of the sounds from the era it dominated, but aside from that the OP is looking for a Rhodes and a DX7 ain't a Rhodes so Hexter or Dexed prolly won't fit the bill either.. My guess is if you don't want to pay for Pianoteq then a Soundfont or SFZ would be the most easily available option..
Last edited by GMaq on Fri Dec 19, 2014 8:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by ssj71 »

wait, I thought rhodes was just the name of a DX7 preset? ;)
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

User avatar
GMaq
Established Member
Posts: 1478
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by GMaq »

ssj71 wrote:wait, I thought rhodes was just the name of a DX7 preset? ;)
:lol:

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1429
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: Any Rhodes emulator?

Post by glowrak guy »

Around here, we use rhodes to haul and set up the amps and DX7's and other heavy stuff :wink:

Post Reply