Import of "erratic Midi-Files"

MusE is a DAW for Linux with both MIDI and Audio editing. https://muse-sequencer.github.io

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, spamatica

Post Reply
User avatar
Tutorius
Established Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2023 4:04 pm

Import of "erratic Midi-Files"

Post by Tutorius »

Hi,
i have a problem with some midi-file. I have worked with Zrythmn in 2023, and have some songs there that i want to re-edit in MusE.
I have exported some parts from Zrythm as Midi, as complete track, as single bars, from different tracks.

The Midi-files are imported and look OK. But when i start the play, it starts and the program crashes after a short period of time.
The packed file contains a Muse-Project (20240929-001). It contains an imported Midifile that will not play.

I am looking for a way to see what controllers and Co. are causing errors here, and a solution to cut unneeded stuff.
Any hints?

Thanks much

Hartmut

Attachments
testfile.tar.gz
(9.81 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
User avatar
Impostor
Established Member
Posts: 1574
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 1:55 pm
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 431 times

Re: Import of "erratic Midi-Files"

Post by Impostor »

Your midi track contains note events only. No program data, no controller data. Got no problem playing it either.

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 688
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 125 times

Re: Import of "erratic Midi-Files"

Post by Tim E. Real »

Thanks very much for the test file!
Congratulations, your file causes MusE's transport to freeze here, after a few seconds of play.
And it may indeed cause a crash later, although that has not happened yet.

In file midi.cpp, we are stuck in a loop:

Code: Select all

Audio::processAudioMetronome()
{
  ...
            // STUCK IN THIS LOOP !!!
            while (extsync ? (audioClick < next_tick) : (audioClick <= next_tick))
            {
  ...
                    if(acc_types & MetroAccent::Accent1)
                    {
                      // Cue an accent 1. (This part 'triggers' an accent sequence to begin
                      //  which automatically cues accent 2 if required then a normal beat, as shown below.)
                      audioClick = MusEGlobal::sigmap.bar2tick(bar, beat, ticks_beat - ((ticks_beat/n)));
                      // THE 'audioClick' IS NOT ADVANCING, CAUSING US TO BE STUCK IN THE LOOP !!!
                    }
  ...  
} }

This is not caused by your notes, I deleted the part.
Something else...
At the moment I don't see anything unusual in your file regarding midiDivision and so on.
And the metronome isn't even on (the metronome icon on the toolbar is off).
So I can't say any workaround at this time.
Checking... Please wait, this may take some time.

Thanks.

User avatar
Tutorius
Established Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2023 4:04 pm

Re: Import of "erratic Midi-Files"

Post by Tutorius »

Thanks for the answers,

But MusE works quite well when used "normal". I will try a bit too, look if i had an old version running.
I had a system-crash on my mainsystem and am now "Musing" on my second harddisk.

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 688
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 125 times

Re: Import of "erratic Midi-Files"

Post by Tim E. Real »

Found the problem:
Your song's key signature is 4/1.
Is that desired? Four whole notes to a bar?
I changed it to 4/4 and the song plays.

MusE is failing with that '1' denominator.
Still, it shouldn't, and it probably should be fixed.

Screenshot_20241001_132444.png
Screenshot_20241001_132444.png (18.31 KiB) Viewed 302 times
User avatar
Impostor
Established Member
Posts: 1574
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 1:55 pm
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 431 times

Re: Import of "erratic Midi-Files"

Post by Impostor »

Tim E. Real wrote: Tue Oct 01, 2024 5:29 pm

Found the problem:
Your song's key signature is 4/1.
Is that desired? Four whole notes to a bar?
I changed it to 4/4 and the song plays.

MusE is failing with that '1' denominator.
Still, it shouldn't, and it probably should be fixed.

Screenshot_20241001_132444.png

Still, it plays fine here with that signature. Although I did at some point customize the metronome settings, see below.

Edit:see post below. It's the accent sequence.

Last edited by Impostor on Tue Oct 01, 2024 7:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Impostor
Established Member
Posts: 1574
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 1:55 pm
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 431 times

Re: Import of "erratic Midi-Files"

Post by Impostor »

Impostor wrote: Tue Oct 01, 2024 5:34 pm

Still, it plays fine here with that signature. Although I did at some point customize the metronome settings, see below. If I remove these (from MusE-seq.cfg), it crashes here too.

Eh, having reinstated my custom, previously working, MusE-seq.cfg, it now also crashes all the time....time for a reboot.

User avatar
Tutorius
Established Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2023 4:04 pm

Re: Import of "erratic Midi-Files"

Post by Tutorius »

Tim E. Real wrote: Tue Oct 01, 2024 5:29 pm

Found the problem:
Your song's key signature is 4/1.
Is that desired? Four whole notes to a bar?
I changed it to 4/4 and the song plays.

MusE is failing with that '1' denominator.
Still, it shouldn't, and it probably should be fixed.

Screenshot_20241001_132444.png

No thought why this was on 4:1... I made some midi-things in the past, a program to split midi-notes to feed multiple instruments that are monophone. Perhaps this was set there...

Works here, too, with 4:4 now

Edith means:

The 4:1 was set by the import of a midi-file. My be better to avoid change of settings when importing a midi-file...

Thanks a lot, can do some music now ...

Last edited by Tutorius on Tue Oct 01, 2024 6:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Impostor
Established Member
Posts: 1574
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 1:55 pm
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 431 times

Re: Import of "erratic Midi-Files"

Post by Impostor »

I've copied an old MusE-seq-cfg from a backup disk, and voila (of course!), the track worked again. Then I did something with the metronome's "accent sequence" and now it crashes again.

Don't know how this got into my "working" MusE-seq.cfg above (sneaky autosave maybe?), but this seems the culprit, although the actual sequence seems irrelevant.
<metroAccMap beats="4">
1, 0, 2, 0

Post Reply