All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Link to good samples/soundfonts at http://wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/free_audio_data

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
dchurch24
Established Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:44 pm

All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by dchurch24 »

Hi all,

Not sure which forum to post this in, so please move if needs be.

I recently purchased a new laptop and installed Ubuntu Studio, I then purchased an M-Audio Axiom 61 midi controller, which was recognised straight away.
The problem is, that no matter which midi instrument I assign it to, it's almost a semitone sharp.
These could be VST2/3 or LAPSDA...the effect is the same.
I've tried the BBC Symphony plug in, Yoshimi, Calf Organ, LABS...no matter what it is, it's out of tune.

I booted the same laptop into Windows and tested the pitch and it's bang on...so it's not a hardware issue.

...so something in Ubuntu is changing the pitch.

Does anyone have any idea what it might be? It's driving me crazy :p

User avatar
Piergi
Established Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2020 8:20 am
Location: Berlin
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by Piergi »

dchurch24 wrote: Fri Apr 26, 2024 10:40 am

so something in Ubuntu is changing the pitch.

To me it looks like a difference in sample rate, i.e. your interface is 44.1 kHz and your system 48 kHz. Or the other way around.

Check your (pipewire? jack? alsa? DAW?) default settings.

dchurch24
Established Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:44 pm

Re: All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by dchurch24 »

Hi, thank you. I think that's it.
I just changed the default in Jack to 48kHz...and then opened up Calf Organ in Carla...and it was at the correct pitch.

I then opened Ardour, and added a new midi track (This time the BBC orchestra VST)...and I could actually hear the pitch of the Calf Organ change up nearly a semitone as I did it!

So...this tells me that Ardour is somehow changing the sample rate...and I can't find where :p

User avatar
Daniele71
Established Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2023 3:02 pm
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by Daniele71 »

You can see Ardour sample rate in the top-right corner.

My music: Youtube
GeekOsDaw: GeekOsDaw

dchurch24
Established Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:44 pm

Re: All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by dchurch24 »

Thank you. I've set the default in Jack to 48kHz and that seems to have fixed it.

Truly appreciated, I thought I was going to go down a deep rabbit hole trying to find the answer.

dchurch24
Established Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:44 pm

Re: All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by dchurch24 »

Ah, I spoke too soon.

Just added Yoshimi as a midi instrument, and it's nearly a semitone out - the sample rates of both Ardour and Alsa (in Yoshimi), are 48kHz...and yet the problem persists.

dchurch24
Established Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:44 pm

Re: All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by dchurch24 »

Ok. It appears to be Ardour.

I can add Calf Organ (or others) to Carla...and the pitch is correct.

The moment I open Ardour, the pitch rises by nearly a semitone. Closing Ardour doesn't return it to proper pitch.

Everything is set to 48kHz.

Baffled...and now deeper into the rabbit hole.

As an aside. I used an old version of Ubuntu Studio on my old laptop (I forget which probably 22.4 or something), and everything pretty much just worked.
I upgraded my laptop to a new one in January of this year, and also the version of Ubuntu Studio to the latest, and it's been nothing but bother. Ardour stealing the time master from Hydrogen. Hydrogen kits and sounds missing etc... my Helix no longer connect on the first attempt (I have to go into the hardware section and add all to the track, then get rid of them before it'll even start to think about using audio in etc...).
It just seems a mess now.

What is everyone else using, because they can't possibly be using Studio any longer?

User avatar
Largos
Established Member
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 12:21 pm
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 207 times

Re: All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by Largos »

If you open a new/empty session in Ardour, does the problem persist?

dchurch24
Established Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:44 pm

Re: All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by dchurch24 »

Hi, yes. If I create a new session, then immediately, all midi instruments are out of tune.
Oddly, if I then add a new instrument to Carla, then wire it up in the Jack patchbay...I'll get no input or output.

It's truly bizarre.

If I open a previous session, then the instruments that are already set up are in perfect tune.

dchurch24
Established Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:44 pm

Re: All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by dchurch24 »

I just rebooted, and went to show my other half the issue.

Added a new instance of Calf Organ to Carla - showed her the tuner showing a perfect G. A few seconds later, and with doing nothing at all, it's closer to a G#.

I closed it all down, and started again.

I added the BBC Samples (VST2) to Carla- perfectly in tune.
Added Yoshimi - out of tune.
Added Calf Organ - out of tune.
Added Carla (VST3?) - out of tune.
Added LABS - perfectly in tune.

It seems that everything is out of tune apart from the Spitfire samples.

It makes no sense at all, and I have no idea when this started happening.

dchurch24
Established Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:44 pm

Re: All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by dchurch24 »

Ok. Restarted again.

Added Yoshimi and changed it to an organ sound. It was perfectly in tune.

Walked about for 20 minutes.

It's now nearly a semitone out.

asbak
Established Member
Posts: 948
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:04 pm
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by asbak »

dchurch24 wrote: Fri Apr 26, 2024 2:42 pm

What is everyone else using, because they can't possibly be using Studio any longer?

Mint 21.3 with own customisations, jack + pulseaudio at 48kHz, Reaper, Guitarix, a boatload of virtual instrument plugins and a M-Audio MIDI controller. Works fine.

No idea what's going on but it sounds like it's time for rm -rf /

Perhaps also test with a different soundcard and get things working first with tried & tested jack (avoid pipewire).

User avatar
Largos
Established Member
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 12:21 pm
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 207 times

Re: All midi instruments are out of tune....?

Post by Largos »

You could try unplugging the midi controller to eliminate that as the problem, maybe it's changing a setting and you don't realise.

Post Reply