Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Discuss anything new and newsworthy! See http://planet.linuxaudio.org and https://libreav.org/news for more Linux Audio News!

Announcements of proprietary software may fit better in the Marketplace.


Moderators: raboof, MattKingUSA, khz

tramp
Established Member
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 403 times

Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by tramp »

On request I made a little GUI for the Neural Amp Modeler LV2 plugin by Mike Oliphant.
https://github.com/mikeoliphant/neural-amp-modeler-lv2

It could be installed as add-on to the already installed neural amp modeller LV2 plugin.

Image

get it here:
https://github.com/brummer10/neural-amp-modeler-ui

And before the question comes, yes, it fully support Hdpi :)

On the road again.
User avatar
LAM
Established Member
Posts: 981
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 3:16 pm
Has thanked: 139 times
Been thanked: 341 times

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by LAM »

Great UI @tramp. :D

I read that Neural Amp Modeler LV2 plugin by Mike Oliphant can't do resampling, so you have to run your host at the same samplerate the model you are using.

In the NAM core I see they have some source to deal with resampling, and I see that in the source of https://github.com/Tr3m/nam-juce too.

Do you happen to know if this is the case?

in mix, nobody can hear your screen

tramp
Established Member
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 403 times

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by tramp »

Yes, the Neural Amp Modeler LV2 plugin by Mike Oliphant is bare bone. It didn't do resampling, nor have it a EQ or could load IR files. It is meant to be used in a modular setup were you use other plugs to do this jobs.

On the road again.
User avatar
Audiojunkie
Established Member
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 4:27 pm
Has thanked: 359 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by Audiojunkie »

tramp wrote: Wed Jan 31, 2024 8:34 am

On request I made a little GUI for the Neural Amp Modeler LV2 plugin by Mike Oliphant.
https://github.com/mikeoliphant/neural-amp-modeler-lv2

It could be installed as add-on to the already installed neural amp modeller LV2 plugin.

Image

get it here:
https://github.com/brummer10/neural-amp-modeler-ui

And before the question comes, yes, it fully support Hdpi :)

And the question would have come! 🤣

Thank you for this gift! 🙂

runiq
Established Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2023 9:55 am
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 7 times
Contact:

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by runiq »

Ah, there's something I've been meaning to ask! The NAM-LV2 repo states:

Setting the model to use requires that your LV2 host supports atom:Path parameters

Is the requirement still present with this GUI?

tramp
Established Member
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 403 times

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by tramp »

runiq wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 4:48 pm

Is the requirement still present with this GUI?

At least the host must support atom ports. It didn't need explicit support for atom:Path parameter, but it must be able to handle atom port messages.

On the road again.
tramp
Established Member
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 403 times

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by tramp »

I just added a quick access menu, making all nam files from the current loaded folder quickly available:

Image

On the road again.
User avatar
Audiojunkie
Established Member
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 4:27 pm
Has thanked: 359 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by Audiojunkie »

This is awesome!! So does this mean it will load into Guitarix.VST? I hope! I hope!

tramp
Established Member
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 403 times

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by tramp »

Audiojunkie wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 4:57 pm

This is awesome!! So does this mean it will load into Guitarix.VST? I hope! I hope!

Nope, sorry. Still no atom support in guitarix. :oops:

On the road again.
User avatar
Audiojunkie
Established Member
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 4:27 pm
Has thanked: 359 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by Audiojunkie »

tramp wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:41 am
Audiojunkie wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 4:57 pm

This is awesome!! So does this mean it will load into Guitarix.VST? I hope! I hope!

Nope, sorry. Still no atom support in guitarix. :oops:

How many lv2 plugins can be loaded concurrently within Guitarix?

Also, would these plugins possibly load into guitarix.vst with the help of Ildaeil? Supposedy, Ildaeil gets past the atom support problem. I’d try it right now, except I’m working out some compatibility problems with my OS in attempting to upgrade to Fedora 39. But I’m really curious. 🙂

User avatar
bulevardi
Established Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:46 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by bulevardi »

It can be loaded in the Mod Audio desktop environment:

https://github.com/moddevices/mod-desktop

Instagram, BandCamp, SoundCloud, Spotify, iTunes,....
Get In Touch^^
tramp
Established Member
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 403 times

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by tramp »

Audiojunkie wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 4:57 pm

This is awesome!! So does this mean it will load into Guitarix.VST? I hope! I hope!

Not that, but I've NAM as internal plug running in guitarix. Still I need some days to makes it production ready, but, it's on it's way.
My plan is to implement it as a selection in the amp selector. So you could switch from the usual guitarix amp simulation to a neural amp simulation and load your model.

On the road again.
User avatar
Audiojunkie
Established Member
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 4:27 pm
Has thanked: 359 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by Audiojunkie »

Oh, WOW!!! This is an AMAZING new feature!!!!!!! AMAZING!!!! There's nothing now, that can touch Guitarix.vst in the free/open source world with this developement!!!!! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!!!!! :D

BTW, with NAM's LV2 plugin's inability to adjust to the sample rate, does this mean that Guitarix will be forced to use what sample rate the NAM profiles are created in?

User avatar
bulevardi
Established Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:46 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by bulevardi »

runiq wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 4:48 pm

The NAM-LV2 repo

Hmm, I'm a n00b in this... but I wasn't able to make this build, following the readme.
I followed all the steps there, but then I got errors in my terminal:

CMake Warning:
No source or binary directory provided. Both will be assumed to be the
same as the current working directory, but note that this warning will
become a fatal error in future CMake releases.

-- The CXX compiler identification is unknown
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:3 (project):
No CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER could be found.

Tell CMake where to find the compiler by setting either the environment
variable "CXX" or the CMake cache entry CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER to the full path
to the compiler, or to the compiler name if it is in the PATH.

-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!

Why can't they just put the .so file or LV2 file thing online....

Last edited by bulevardi on Thu Feb 15, 2024 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Instagram, BandCamp, SoundCloud, Spotify, iTunes,....
Get In Touch^^
tramp
Established Member
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 403 times

Re: Neural Amp Modeler LV2 GUI

Post by tramp »

Audiojunkie wrote: Thu Feb 15, 2024 3:49 pm

does this mean that Guitarix will be forced to use what sample rate the NAM profiles are created in?

No. That's why I going to implement it as internal plug instead going to use the LV2 version. Surly it will be Sample Rate independent.

On the road again.
Post Reply