unable to use midi keyboard in MusE

MusE is a DAW for Linux with both MIDI and Audio editing. https://muse-sequencer.github.io

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA, spamatica

Post Reply
Plug&Play
Established Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 2:09 am

unable to use midi keyboard in MusE

Post by Plug&Play »

I have installed MusE 3.2.2 on Ubuntu Studio 20.04.
I have a history of success making mid connections using jack-Alsa with Yoshimi, Qsynth and others.

My only problem at the moment is that I am unable to record midi in the MusE piano roll.
I saw the "midi input" button. It did not help.
QjackCTL has midisnoop running, and I see note on/off channel 1 when I press keys.
When I click on the piano roll keyboard hear sounds, but not when I use my midi keyboard.
In Muse, if I use the Yoshimi virtual keyboard (it indicates channel 1), I hear sounds, but Muse seems to not be connected to the keyboard.

I found the Settings/midi ports/soft synth dialog, and I see that jack-midi 0 to 3 are in "usable devices, and both "I" and "O" are selected with a green dot.
I don't know what to do next!

Advice?

Rob

Music Music Music !

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 422
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: unable to use midi keyboard in MusE

Post by Tim E. Real »

Each track has a pair of green diagonal arrows that pop up a menu for routing connections into and out of the track.
Check that the track's input routing is as desired. When Jack is running you can even do your Jack routing from there as well,
by viewing the menu's sub-popup menus.
Tip: Hold the Ctrl key to make the menus stay open after clicking.

Once that is set up as desired, you can click the track's monitoring and/or record-arm buttons (green and red circles),
and should get something when main record and play buttons are clicked.

There are some tutorial links on the website.
You can always post pictures if you still have trouble.

HTH.

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: unable to use midi keyboard in MusE

Post by Kott »

Must say that i spent about halfhour trying to assign input from my MIDI-keys. I gave up and went to watch youtube =/

Plug&Play
Established Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 2:09 am

Re: unable to use midi keyboard in MusE

Post by Plug&Play »

Thanks - it works now!

I will be reading the documentation
Help -> manual (F1)
https://github.com/muse-sequencer/muse/ ... mentation

Rob

Music Music Music !

Post Reply