Save Effects Rack?

MusE is a MIDI/Audio sequencer with recording and editing capabilities, aiming to be a complete multitrack virtual studio for Linux. https://muse-sequencer.org/

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA, spamatica

Post Reply
User avatar
gauderbock
Established Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:01 pm
Location: Tirol

Save Effects Rack?

Post by gauderbock »

Hi, is it possible to save a complete effects rack configuration? Or alternatively, save individual tracks and import into another song?

I've looked around and couldn't find anything.
Thanks.

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 410
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Save Effects Rack?

Post by Tim E. Real »

No. We did have a request some time ago to have individual track exporting and importing. But nothing yet.
Individual effects rack items can be dragged and dropped to another track's rack. But that's not what you want.

If you don't mind a bit of textual copying and pasting, I can show you how to quickly do it:
Open the source song file and navigate to a particular track entry.
Below I show a wave track named "Track 1".
The track has two plugins in its rack - an EQ and a pitch shifter.

Open the destination song file and do some copying:

Copy the desired 'plugin' sections which I have indicated below.

Next, copy the desired 'controller' sections.
These sections' 'id' numbers start at 4096 * (1 + rack position).
Thus for the first rack plugin, the relevant controller section starts at id = 4096.
For the second rack plugin, the relevant controller section starts at id = 8192.
And so on, for up to eight rack plugins.
(The controller sections that start at 'id=0' are for the track's own volume, pan, and mute controllers. Don't copy them.)
In the example below, id = 4097 has a couple of floating point controller graph entry values. Grab them as well.

Those steps will copy rack plugins to another song file's tracks.

But if you want to copy an entire track, simply copy and paste the entire section between (and including) the
opening and closing 'wavetrack' tags (in this example).

Side note: I just noticed, and was reminded of, a long-time bug that the song doesn't remember empty rack positions.
Thus if your rack has a plugin entry, followed by an empty entry, followed by another plugin entry, MusE 'forgets'
the empty entry, and upon reloading, the empty entry is gone and both plugins are 'side by side'.
It's a benign bug, it does not affect operation. It simply removes empty entries.

HTH.
Tim.

Code: Select all

    <wavetrack>
      <name>Track 1</name>
      <record>0</record>
      <mute>0</mute>
      <solo>0</solo>
      <off>0</off>
      <channels>1</channels>
      <height>20</height>
      <locked>0</locked>
      <recMonitor>0</recMonitor>
      <selected>1</selected>
      <selectionOrder>0</selectionOrder>
      <prefader>0</prefader>
      <sendMetronome>0</sendMetronome>
      <automation>0</automation>
      <gain>1</gain>
      
      // The first plugin in the rack. Copy from here....
      <plugin file="3BandEQ-dssi" label="3BandEQ" channel="1">
        <control name="Low" val="0" />
        <control name="Mid" val="0" />
        <control name="High" val="0" />
        <control name="Master" val="0" />
        <control name="Low-Mid Freq" val="440" />
        <control name="Mid-High Freq" val="1000" />
        <geometry x="0" y="29" w="377" h="224"></geometry>
        <nativeGeometry x="0" y="0" w="0" h="0"></nativeGeometry>
      </plugin>
      // ... to here.
      
      // The second plugin in the rack. Copy from here...
      <plugin file="am_pitchshift_1433" label="amPitchshift" channel="1">
        <control name="Pitch shift" val="1" />
        <control name="Buffer size" val="4" />
        <geometry x="0" y="0" w="0" h="0"></geometry>
        <nativeGeometry x="0" y="0" w="0" h="0"></nativeGeometry>
      </plugin>
      // ... to here.
      
      <controller id="0" cur="1" color="#ff0000" visible="0">
        </controller>
      <controller id="1" cur="0" color="#ffff00" visible="0">
        </controller>
      <controller id="2" cur="0" color="#0000ff" visible="0">
        </controller>
        
       // For the first plugin in the rack. Copy from here...
      <controller id="4096" cur="0" color="#00ff00" visible="0">
        </controller>
      <controller id="4097" cur="0" color="#ff0000" visible="1">
        233363 -12.3871,         422855 6.19355,         
        </controller>
      <controller id="4098" cur="0" color="#00ff00" visible="0">
        </controller>
      <controller id="4099" cur="0" color="#00ff00" visible="0">
        </controller>
      <controller id="4100" cur="440" color="#00ff00" visible="0">
        </controller>
      <controller id="4101" cur="1000" color="#00ff00" visible="0">
        </controller>
       // ... to here.
       
       // For the second plugin in the rack. Copy from here...
      <controller id="8192" cur="1" color="#00ff00" visible="0">
        </controller>
      <controller id="8193" cur="4" color="#00ff00" visible="0">
        </controller>
       // ...to here.
        
      </wavetrack>

User avatar
gauderbock
Established Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:01 pm
Location: Tirol

Re: Save Effects Rack?

Post by gauderbock »

Excellent, exactly what I want.

Thanks again!

Post Reply