Yoshimi does not show up

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

zoco
Established Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:04 pm

Yoshimi does not show up

Postby zoco » Thu Apr 04, 2019 7:07 pm

Want to try Yoshimi.
I am keeping it short to be clear and to the point.

Installed
Image

Plays directly under linux.
Image

But it does not show up in the ardour plugin list.
Image

What am i doing wrong?
Last edited by zoco on Thu Apr 04, 2019 7:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sysrqer
Established Member
Posts: 1783
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby sysrqer » Thu Apr 04, 2019 7:23 pm

Spell it correctly.

zoco
Established Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby zoco » Thu Apr 04, 2019 7:34 pm

Your right. Was misspelled. Changed the image with correct search term.
Does not make a difference. It still does not show up. Can not find it in the plugin listings either.

Works great if started directly under linux. I must really do something wrong.

finotti
Established Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby finotti » Thu Apr 04, 2019 7:45 pm

You might need to tell Ardour to rescan your plugins. I don't have access to Ardour right now, but hopefully you can find it in Preferences -> Plugins.

zoco
Established Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby zoco » Thu Apr 04, 2019 8:00 pm

Yoshima is good. I like it a lot. Want to use it in my ardour. :?

Tried the automated re-scan. Even set it on re-scan on startup and started up again. Still not there.
Under pref-plugins is a list with paths. Can it be that i must add the Yoshima path manually? Or is it otherwise possible to add Yoshima manually?

folderol
Established Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:06 pm
Location: Here, of course!
Contact:

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby folderol » Thu Apr 04, 2019 8:08 pm

1.3.8 is a very old version of Yoshimi - so old it doesn't actually have LV2 implemented!

The current version available from most distros is V 1.5.10.2

{edit}

And I know this works on Ardour, Muse3 and Qtractor as I test it regularly on these.
Last edited by folderol on Thu Apr 04, 2019 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby rghvdberg » Thu Apr 04, 2019 8:12 pm

Could be ardour blacklists the plugin. Usually because there is trouble rendering the ui.

folderol
Established Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:06 pm
Location: Here, of course!
Contact:

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby folderol » Thu Apr 04, 2019 8:15 pm

rghvdberg wrote:Could be ardour blacklists the plugin. Usually because there is trouble rendering the ui.

See above!

zoco
Established Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby zoco » Thu Apr 04, 2019 8:17 pm

folderol wrote:1.3.8 is a very old version of Yoshimi - so old it doesn't actually have LV2 implemented!

I was afraid it would be something like the path. After looking at the ardour guides how it handles plugins i could not find it either in de ladspa or lv2 path.
It is the version i installed from the softwarecentre. Then i have to install the later version, but not today. Can i install the latest version on 16LTS?

folderol
Established Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:06 pm
Location: Here, of course!
Contact:

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby folderol » Thu Apr 04, 2019 8:30 pm

Unfortunately probably not. That is also a fairly old version of Ubuntu (even though it is LTS). Also, there was a gap when Ubuntu versions stopped tracking Yoshimi, then a jump to the middle of the 1.5.x series.

P.S.
I'll ask the other devs if anyone has a ubuntu build for this?

P.P.S

It looks like there may be a deb package around... I'll make further inquiries :)

tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby tavasti » Fri Apr 05, 2019 6:32 am

You can check content of your yoshimi package with command 'dpkg -L yoshimi'
Look is there lv2 or vst? You can also run
dpkg -L yoshimi | grep -iE 'lv2|vst'


Edit: how hard it can be to spell Yoshimi correctly for me, that should be something easy to spell like Äkäslompolo or Älämölömasiina
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

zoco
Established Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby zoco » Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:10 pm

folderol wrote:P.P.S

It looks like there may be a deb package around... I'll make further inquiries :)

Thanks folderol.
Does this mean that the latest version i have downloaded i can not implement into U16LTS?

folderol
Established Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:06 pm
Location: Here, of course!
Contact:

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby folderol » Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:20 pm

If it's a binary image then I'm not sure. It depends on whether there are significant library changes in Ubuntu.
If you are compiling it yourself from the source code, it will almost certainly be OK.

zoco
Established Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby zoco » Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:53 am

Compiling youself, is that how it is discribed in the Readme file in the package?

folderol
Established Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:06 pm
Location: Here, of course!
Contact:

Re: Yoshimi does not show up

Postby folderol » Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:25 am

Details for compiling (building) - whatever term is flavour of the month - is described in detail in the 'INSTALL' file that is in the package.
I don't know what experience you have doing this, but you must have already installed the packages listed in the 'Dependencies' file via synaptic or suchlike.


Return to “Plugins, Effects and Instruments”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests