E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Red Leader
Established Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by Red Leader »

Linuxmusician01 wrote:
Red Leader wrote:[...] Try it with sudo apt get. 'get' not a command. Try 'sudo apt get install'....'E: Unable to locate package update'. What am I doing wrong?
Understandable mistake. You were almost there! The command is "apt-get" (it's one word with a with a dash in it) instead of "apt get". I still make this mistake too sometimes. ;)
Red Leader wrote: # modprobe -r snd-emu10k1-synth snd-emu10k1 ; modprobe snd-emu10k1

...and it said their was a fatal error because snd-emu10k1 is already in use!
The Debian page to which I redirected you might be a little cryptic. Let me explain something first (took me a long time to figure this out in the beginning too). In Linux in the old days one has to execute certain "dangerous" commands as root. Root is the boss (or super user) of your computer: you are not. One switches user with the command su like so:

Code: Select all

su root
And back to Dave with:

Code: Select all

su dave
The "prompt" on the command line then changes from a dollar sign ($) to a pound sign (#). Looks something like this:

Code: Select all

dave@frank:~$ su root
<<type in root's password>>
root@frank:/home/frank/# 
Some Linuxers presume that everybody on earth knows that. So when they post an example from a command with a dollar sign ($) in front of it they assume that you know that you are supposed to execute said command as a regular user. When they post a command with a pound sign (#) in front of it they assume that you know that you are supposed to execute that command as root. If one simply types in "su" - without a username after it - then Linux assumes that you want to be the super user (i.e. root).

Debian still works this way but distro's like Ubuntu and Mint don't. They think that it is unsafe that you can become root. Therefore root does not have a password and you must execute commands as root with the command sudo (super user do). You then type in your own password.

Now why didn't your modprobe command work? If you look closely then you might notice that there is a pound sign in front of said commands: they must be executed as root. So I'd do:

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe -r snd-emu10k1-synth snd-emu10k1
sudo modprobe snd-emu10k1
The frist command removes the old diver (kernel module) the second inserts it again. That second command loads the driver for your sound card with the needed firmware that you've just compiled from source. I hope...

I forgot how one can check if the sound card actually works properly then. Probably by trying to play an MP3 or something...

Good luck! You're almost there. :)

@linuxmusician01,

Thanks for sticking with me on this one. I should either pay you to come over here or I can ship the box to you :mrgreen:

I'll read through your post a few times and then get down there and give it a go again. The strange thing is that I did the command that the one Bill1959 posted but its like my computer just doesn't see the card.

Just for fun, here is my small/humble studio (with the offending hardware in the bottom center of the image!):

Image

Image

For what it's worth, I've already tracked one album from my band and I'm 95% of the way through the guitars on our second album when my AF4 kicked the bucket, which makes this a little more frustrating, since we're trying to wrap up the project.

I'll give things a go tonight and report back! Thank you again, you especially, and everyone else in this thread. Thank you for your patience for a 10+ year linux newbie!
merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 247 times

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by merlyn »

You can check if the card is visible on the PCI bus with

Code: Select all

lspci
Post the output of that in a code box.
Red Leader
Established Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by Red Leader »

So I tried more command prompts from terminal.

Is it something you just have to explore around with? I don't want to break anything, but here is what happened when I tried to do the command with the new information for this code:

$ su
# aptitude update && aptitude install build-essential
# exit

Here is what happened and what I tried:

Code: Select all

dave@frank:~$ sudo apt-get aptitude update && aptitude install build-essential
[sudo] password for dave: 
E: Invalid operation aptitude
dave@frank:~$ sudo aptitude update && aptitude install build-essential
sudo: aptitude: command not found
dave@frank:~$ wget aptitude update && aptitude install build-essential
--2019-04-01 19:32:38--  http://aptitude/
Resolving aptitude (aptitude)... failed: Name or service not known.
wget: unable to resolve host address ‘aptitude’
--2019-04-01 19:32:39--  http://update/
Resolving update (update)... failed: Name or service not known.
wget: unable to resolve host address ‘update’
dave@frank:~$ sudo apt-get aptitude update
[sudo] password for dave: 
E: Invalid operation aptitude

What is interesting is that when I just tried sudo apt-get build-essential, it gave me the following:


Code: Select all

dave@frank:~$ sudo apt-get install build-essential
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following additional packages will be installed:
  dpkg-dev fakeroot g++ g++-7 gcc gcc-7 libalgorithm-diff-perl
  libalgorithm-diff-xs-perl libalgorithm-merge-perl libasan4 libatomic1
  libc-dev-bin libc6-dev libcilkrts5 libfakeroot libgcc-7-dev libitm1 liblsan0
  libmpx2 libquadmath0 libstdc++-7-dev libtsan0 libubsan0 linux-libc-dev
  manpages-dev
Suggested packages:
  debian-keyring g++-multilib g++-7-multilib gcc-7-doc libstdc++6-7-dbg
  gcc-multilib autoconf automake libtool flex bison gcc-doc gcc-7-multilib
  gcc-7-locales libgcc1-dbg libgomp1-dbg libitm1-dbg libatomic1-dbg
  libasan4-dbg liblsan0-dbg libtsan0-dbg libubsan0-dbg libcilkrts5-dbg
  libmpx2-dbg libquadmath0-dbg glibc-doc libstdc++-7-doc
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  build-essential dpkg-dev fakeroot g++ g++-7 gcc gcc-7 libalgorithm-diff-perl
  libalgorithm-diff-xs-perl libalgorithm-merge-perl libasan4 libatomic1
  libc-dev-bin libc6-dev libcilkrts5 libfakeroot libgcc-7-dev libitm1 liblsan0
  libmpx2 libquadmath0 libstdc++-7-dev libtsan0 libubsan0 linux-libc-dev
  manpages-dev
0 upgraded, 26 newly installed, 0 to remove and 30 not upgraded.
Need to get 26.6 MB of archives.
After this operation, 117 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] n

I said 'no' because I wasn't sure if it was the same thing. But if it is...what gives? Why would typing it differently and without the whole structure work correctly? Still a little new to all this...
Last edited by Red Leader on Tue Apr 02, 2019 3:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Red Leader
Established Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by Red Leader »

merlyn wrote:You can check if the card is visible on the PCI bus with

Code: Select all

lspci
Post the output of that in a code box.

Here is what I get:

Code: Select all

dave@frank:~$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor DRAM Controller (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI Host Controller (rev 04)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C216 Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C216 Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 (rev 04)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C216 Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C216 Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev c4)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 5 (rev c4)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 6 (rev c4)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C216 Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev a4)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation B75 Express Chipset LPC Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family 4-port SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C216 Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.5 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family 2-port SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 04)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 06)
03:00.0 PCI bridge: Texas Instruments XIO2213A/B/XIO2221 PCI Express to PCI Bridge [Cheetah Express] (rev 01)
04:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments XIO2213A/B/XIO2221 IEEE-1394b OHCI Controller [Cheetah Express] (rev 01)
05:01.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs EMU10k2/CA0100/CA0102/CA10200 [Sound Blaster Audigy Series] (rev 03)

So...it looks like it is there! Good start! So...why does it not show up at all in Cadence? Is there interference, so-to-speak?
merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 247 times

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by merlyn »

Yeah, that's good. Next you can see if ALSA sees it with

Code: Select all

aplay -l
User avatar
GMaq
Established Member
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:42 pm
Has thanked: 520 times
Been thanked: 555 times

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by GMaq »

Hi,

Sorry, I haven't been able to follow this thread as closely as I'd like..

A search of Filesystem--->lib--->firmware--->emu should tell you if you have the firmware installed, there should should be 6 files, if you have some sort of 'alsa-firmware' package installed you shouldn't need to build any firmware from source. I believe the KXStudio repos provide that package.
Attachments
emufirmware.png
emufirmware.png (46.15 KiB) Viewed 1805 times
User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 1523
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland
Has thanked: 756 times
Been thanked: 134 times

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by Linuxmusician01 »

Red Leader wrote:[...]

Code: Select all

dave@frank:~$ sudo apt-get install build-essential
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following additional packages will be installed:
  dpkg-dev fakeroot g++ g++-7 gcc gcc-7 libalgorithm-diff-perl
  libalgorithm-diff-xs-perl libalgorithm-merge-perl libasan4 libatomic1
  libc-dev-bin libc6-dev libcilkrts5 libfakeroot libgcc-7-dev libitm1 liblsan0
  libmpx2 libquadmath0 libstdc++-7-dev libtsan0 libubsan0 linux-libc-dev
  manpages-dev
Suggested packages:
  debian-keyring g++-multilib g++-7-multilib gcc-7-doc libstdc++6-7-dbg
  gcc-multilib autoconf automake libtool flex bison gcc-doc gcc-7-multilib
  gcc-7-locales libgcc1-dbg libgomp1-dbg libitm1-dbg libatomic1-dbg
  libasan4-dbg liblsan0-dbg libtsan0-dbg libubsan0-dbg libcilkrts5-dbg
  libmpx2-dbg libquadmath0-dbg glibc-doc libstdc++-7-doc
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  build-essential dpkg-dev fakeroot g++ g++-7 gcc gcc-7 libalgorithm-diff-perl
  libalgorithm-diff-xs-perl libalgorithm-merge-perl libasan4 libatomic1
  libc-dev-bin libc6-dev libcilkrts5 libfakeroot libgcc-7-dev libitm1 liblsan0
  libmpx2 libquadmath0 libstdc++-7-dev libtsan0 libubsan0 linux-libc-dev
  manpages-dev
0 upgraded, 26 newly installed, 0 to remove and 30 not upgraded.
Need to get 26.6 MB of archives.
After this operation, 117 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] n
I said 'no' because I wasn't sure if it was the same thing. But if it is...what gives? Why would typing it differently and without the whole structure work correctly? Still a little new to all this...
You should have said Yes. :)

(the correct command to install software on Ubuntu based systems indeed is "sudo apt-get install <<insert_software_name_here>>")
glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 2315
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm
Been thanked: 251 times

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by glowrak guy »

Correct only if you omit the quotes " " and << emphasis
for example, to install the new Surge beta,
I needed a dependency, fonts-lato

sudo apt-get install fonts-lato

I realize you are not implying to include the quotes,
I'm just making sure for future readers who may be new.

Quotes are needed sometimes, like when using wine,
quotes must surround paths that include spaces,
for example

wine /home/me/.wine/drive_c/"Program Files/IK Multimedia/Syntronik/Syntronik.exe"

wine "/home/me/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/IK Multimedia/AmpliTube 4/AmpliTube 4.exe"

Both would work.

Or if you already have a .deb package you want to install,

sudo dpkg -i Surge-linux-x64-1.6.0-beta-8.deb

Cheers
Red Leader
Established Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by Red Leader »

Thanks all for sticking with me.

Work schedule is busy, but I'll have some time to check it out tomorrow. I'll pour over all the new posts and report back what I find!
Red Leader
Established Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by Red Leader »

merlyn wrote:Yeah, that's good. Next you can see if ALSA sees it with

Code: Select all

aplay -l

Okay, here is output from that command -

Code: Select all

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC887-VD Analog [ALC887-VD Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Loopback [Loopback], device 0: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 1: Loopback [Loopback], device 1: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
Looks really generic to me, so I'm sensing 'no' on ALSA recognizing it?
Red Leader
Established Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by Red Leader »

GMaq wrote:Hi,

Sorry, I haven't been able to follow this thread as closely as I'd like..

A search of Filesystem--->lib--->firmware--->emu should tell you if you have the firmware installed, there should should be 6 files, if you have some sort of 'alsa-firmware' package installed you shouldn't need to build any firmware from source. I believe the KXStudio repos provide that package.
I just checked, and I have those files. They are under Home/alsa firmware 1.0.28/Emu

Does that folder need to be in a different location for the system to recognize them?
Red Leader
Established Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by Red Leader »

Also, in Cadence, it has an exclamation point around the kernal (4.18.0) as 'generic', and also says 'User in audio group: - no'

Not sure if this matters.

In Cadence, my only option for 'hardware/interface' is 'hw:PCH,0 [ALC887-VD Analog]' ....which sounds like the onboard sound controller on the mb, but I'm not sure...


Ardour still won't open. Just says 'could not create session'.
merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 247 times

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by merlyn »

Red Leader wrote:Looks really generic to me, so I'm sensing 'no' on ALSA recognizing it?
You're right. ALSA is not recognising the card. JACK relies on ALSA, so Cadence won't list the card until ALSA recognises it.
ALSAJACKPyramid.png
ALSAJACKPyramid.png (40.87 KiB) Viewed 1772 times
lspci checked the bottom layer of the pyramid. Now we have to sort the ALSA layer by installing alsa-firmware. You could try using Synaptic for this or add the KX repositories. There are instructions at this link: https://kx.studio/Repositories.

You're getting warnings on Cadence because you started with a standard Ubuntu. Installing kxstudio-default-settings from the KX repos may fix this.

EDIT: I suggested going back to AV Linux, then thought that was adding to the confusion, and suggested kx-default-settings instead.
Last edited by merlyn on Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
GMaq
Established Member
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:42 pm
Has thanked: 520 times
Been thanked: 555 times

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by GMaq »

Hi

To reiterate what merlyn said and what I posted before if you're on Ubuntu you need to get the alsa-firmware package from the KXStudio repositories. For the record AV Linux has always had alsa-firmware pre-installed so I'm a bit puzzled why your emu doesn't work there.

As far as networking stuff there is no customization or difference from vanilla Debian with any of those system functions in AV Linux, it is not uncommon for Ubuntu to have drivers and hardware support that Debian doesn't have or that requires extra steps with Debian.
merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 247 times

Re: E-mu 0404 and getting nowhere...

Post by merlyn »

@Red Leader Trying the new 2019 version of AV Linux is an option. If you have another device with internet access you could use that to post what the problem is with networking. It may be quicker to sort the networking on AV Linux than sort the audio on your current Ubuntu setup.
Post Reply