MUSE: Bad timing error

MusE is a DAW for Linux with both MIDI and Audio editing. https://muse-sequencer.github.io

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, spamatica

Post Reply
hdr
Established Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by hdr »

Hi,
unforutnately there is a problem starting muse.
After starting jack I run muse from terminal. There is a 'Bad timing' message.
muse
Config File </home/hdr/.config/MusE/MusE.cfg>
LOCALE de_DE
Denormal protection enabled.
Trying RTC timer...
RtcTimer::setTimerFreq(): cannot set freq 1024 on /dev/rtc: Keine Berechtigung
precise timer not available, check file permissions and allowed RTC freq (/sys/class/rtc/rtc0/max_user_freq)
Trying ALSA timer...
AlsaTimer::initTimer(): best available ALSA timer: system timer
got timer = 74
Aquired timer frequency: 250
JACK: buffersize changed 512
Audio::shutdown()
Speicherzugriffsfehler
can someone help me?
Attachments
Bad_timing.png
Bad_timing.png (16.4 KiB) Viewed 1618 times
OS: Debian 10 DAW: Ardour 6.2
spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 97 times

Re: MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by spamatica »

Which version of MusE are you running and what distribution?

I see in the trace there is a Speicherzugriffsfehler which I believe is segmentation fault in english.
In other words MusE crashes..
The warning about bad timing is not related to this, MusE should still be working just that a faster timer would be preferrable.

A common cause for these types of problems (there a few recent threads in this forum) are plugins that we have issues with.
The plugin handling in 3.1pre1 has been vastly improved so if compiling this version is an option it is much recommended.
MusE DAW
User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 1698
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 57 times
Contact:

Re: MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by lilith »

hdr wrote:Hi,
unforutnately there is a problem starting muse.
After starting jack I run muse from terminal. There is a 'Bad timing' message.
muse
Config File </home/hdr/.config/MusE/MusE.cfg>
LOCALE de_DE
Denormal protection enabled.
Trying RTC timer...
RtcTimer::setTimerFreq(): cannot set freq 1024 on /dev/rtc: Keine Berechtigung
precise timer not available, check file permissions and allowed RTC freq (/sys/class/rtc/rtc0/max_user_freq)
Trying ALSA timer...
AlsaTimer::initTimer(): best available ALSA timer: system timer
got timer = 74
Aquired timer frequency: 250
JACK: buffersize changed 512
Audio::shutdown()
Speicherzugriffsfehler
can someone help me?
Maybe related to this: https://wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/system ... ion#timers

Can you check what you get instead of:

Code: Select all

CONFIG_HZ_1000=y
CONFIG_HZ=1000
CONFIG_PREEMPT_RT_FULL=y
CONFIG_PREEMPT=y
hdr
Established Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by hdr »

I was using MusE version 2.2 on debian 9.
Now I removed version 2.2 and tried with muse-3.1.0pre1 but the installing doesnt work

Code: Select all

cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=release
 vst header path: /home/hdr/.local/share/Trash/files/muse-3.1.0pre1/vestige
-- Could NOT find Git (missing:  GIT_EXECUTABLE) 
Unix (probably linux) found
CMake Warning at CMakeLists.txt:207 (find_package):
  By not providing "FindQt5Widgets.cmake" in CMAKE_MODULE_PATH this project
  has asked CMake to find a package configuration file provided by
  "Qt5Widgets", but CMake did not find one.

  Could not find a package configuration file provided by "Qt5Widgets" with
  any of the following names:

    Qt5WidgetsConfig.cmake
    qt5widgets-config.cmake

  Add the installation prefix of "Qt5Widgets" to CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH or set
  "Qt5Widgets_DIR" to a directory containing one of the above files.  If
  "Qt5Widgets" provides a separate development package or SDK, be sure it has
  been installed.


CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:210 (message):
  Fatal error: QT (version >= 5.1.0) required.

  Cmake tries to detect QT5 by searching for 'Qt5Widgets' package

  If you have QT5 installed, make sure 'Qt5Widgets' package is in
  PKG_CONFIG_PATH.


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/home/hdr/.local/share/Trash/files/muse-3.1.0pre1/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
Trying to install qt5

Code: Select all

apt-get install qt5-default
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 qt5-default : Depends: qtbase5-dev but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

leads to an endless cascade of unmet dependencies
OS: Debian 10 DAW: Ardour 6.2
User avatar
khz
Established Member
Posts: 1648
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:29 am
Location: German
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 92 times

Re: MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by khz »

lilith wrote:Maybe related to this: https://wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/system ... ion#timers

Can you check what you get instead of:

Code: Select all

Linuxmusicians@LAW:~$ cat /proc/interrupts | grep -i time; sleep 10; cat /proc/interrupts | grep time

  0:         30          0          0          0  IR-IO-APIC   2-edge      timer
LOC:    9826371    7889979    9702237    7665172   Local timer interrupts
  0:         30          0          0          0  IR-IO-APIC   2-edge      timer
LOC:    9827318    7890713    9703205    7665739   Local timer interrupts

Code: Select all

Linuxmusicians@LAW:~$ man 7 time
. . . FZ - Does humor belongs in Music?
. . GNU/LINUX@AUDIO ~ /Wiki $ Howto.Info && GNU/Linux Debian installing >> Linux Audio Workstation LAW
  • I don't care about the freedom of speech because I have nothing to say.
hdr
Established Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by hdr »

Code: Select all

cat /proc/interrupts | grep -i time; sleep 10; cat /proc/interrupts | grep time
  0:          7          0          0          0   IO-APIC   2-edge      timer
LOC:    8288093    7688156    8277994    7101501   Local timer interrupts
HVS:          0          0          0          0   Hyper-V stimer0 interrupts
  0:          7          0          0          0   IO-APIC   2-edge      timer
LOC:    8292506    7692204    8282769    7105151   Local timer interrupts
HVS:          0          0          0          0   Hyper-V stimer0 interrupts
OS: Debian 10 DAW: Ardour 6.2
spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 97 times

Re: MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by spamatica »

hdr wrote:I was using MusE version 2.2 on debian 9.
Now I removed version 2.2 and tried with muse-3.1.0pre1 but the installing doesnt work
2.2 is really ancient, it's bad that we haven't gotten newer versions into the debian repository.. :(
Someone suggested we provide appimage binaries that (supposedly) can be run on any distribution. That would be great, if anyone has any insight into how to this, do share!

Regarding compilation.
In the README there is an apt line for collecting most packages that is valid for recent Ubuntu, not sure if it is valid for Debian, it's my best suggestion for getting the right packages though.
MusE DAW
spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 97 times

Re: MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by spamatica »

khz wrote:
lilith wrote:Maybe related to this: https://wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/system ... ion#timers
To get rid of the timer warning this contains good information, but MusE 2.2 is really ancient.

I tried now with a 2.2 package I found and I can get it to start if started with the -a parameter, midi only mode.
When starting normally there are severe problems with talking to jack, better to focus on a more recent version.
MusE DAW
spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 97 times

Re: MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by spamatica »

I got a Debian 9 system running in a virtual machine (it's amazing how quick it is these days to set up a test system).

Building under Debian 9 will work with the most current git master after installing all the packages listed in the README. Copy/pasting the git line worked fine for me.
I did have to make some minor changes to the codebase, we required a too recent version of Qt (5.8) but I think I found a working replacement for the few lines that needed to be changed to support 5.7.
MusE DAW
hdr
Established Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by hdr »

Ok, it worked for me too with the readme instructions for Ubuntu.
I didn't try that first, because I don't use Ubuntu.
Thank you.

Edit: I was too fast. It works on a virtual machine, but not on my host.

After entering the package list to the terminal I get the same error as before

Code: Select all

apt-get install build-essential cmake libsndfile1-dev libsamplerate0-dev libjack-jackd2-dev ladspa-sdk qt5-default qttools5-dev qttools5-dev-tools liblo-dev dssi-dev lv2-dev libsamplerate0-dev libsndfile1-dev git libfluidsynth-dev libgtkmm-2.4-dev librtaudio-dev libqt5svg5-dev libinstpatch-dev
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
build-essential is already the newest version (12.3).
cmake is already the newest version (3.7.2-1).
ladspa-sdk is already the newest version (1.13-3).
libsamplerate0-dev is already the newest version (0.1.8-8+b2).
libsndfile1-dev is already the newest version (1.0.27-3).
lv2-dev is already the newest version (2:1.15.5+git20190124v5).
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 qt5-default : Depends: qtbase5-dev but it is not going to be installed
 qttools5-dev : Depends: qtbase5-dev but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
It says I have broken packages but

Code: Select all

dpkg --configure -a
apt-get install -f
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
doesn't help.

For some reason I cannot install the packages
qt5-default
qttools5-dev

Trying it manually

Code: Select all

apt-get install qt5-default 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 qt5-default : Depends: qtbase5-dev but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

Code: Select all

apt-get install qtbase5-dev
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 qtbase5-dev : Depends: libgl1-mesa-dev but it is not going to be installed or
                        libgl-dev
               Depends: libglu1-mesa-dev but it is not going to be installed or
                        libglu-dev
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

Code: Select all

apt-get install libgl1-mesa-dev 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 libgl1-mesa-dev : Depends: mesa-common-dev (= 13.0.6-1+b2) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: libgl1-mesa-glx (= 13.0.6-1+b2) but 18.2.8-2~bpo9+1 is to be installed
                   Depends: libdrm-dev (>= 2.4.69) but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

Code: Select all

apt-get install mesa-common-dev
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 mesa-common-dev : Depends: libdrm-dev (>= 2.4.65) but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

Code: Select all

apt-get install libdrm-dev 
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 libdrm-dev : Depends: libdrm2 (= 2.4.74-1) but 2.4.95-1~bpo9+1 is to be installed
              Depends: libdrm-amdgpu1 (= 2.4.74-1) but 2.4.95-1~bpo9+1 is to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

Code: Select all

apt-get install libdrm2
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
libdrm2 is already the newest version (2.4.95-1~bpo9+1).
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
OS: Debian 10 DAW: Ardour 6.2
spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 573
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 97 times

Re: MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by spamatica »

Package conflicts :( couldn't really help with that. Maybe you have some other repository enabled which contains packages that have conflicting packages?

Do I understand you correct that you managed to build MusE with the virutal machine install?
In that case, try to zip up the entire build folder and copy it to your real machine and unzip and run 'make install' there.
It is still possible you have all the packages for running MusE, just not for building MusE (though the qt5-default might speak against that.. not sure what it contains)

I'm pursuing the appimage route to try and provide a MusE binary that would work on more systems, still some ways to go though, before I can say if it will work..
MusE DAW
hdr
Established Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by hdr »

spamatica wrote:In that case, try to zip up the entire build folder and copy it to your real machine and unzip and run 'make install' there.
doesn't work

Code: Select all

make install
make: *** No rule to make target 'install'.  Stop.
OS: Debian 10 DAW: Ardour 6.2
hdr
Established Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: MUSE: Bad timing error

Post by hdr »

I think the original problem with the bad timing error is now solved -> version 2 is too old.
So I started a new thread with the installation issue: viewtopic.php?f=61&t=19752
OS: Debian 10 DAW: Ardour 6.2
Post Reply