Dragonfly Hall Reverb

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
Michael Willis
Established Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains, North America
Contact:

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby Michael Willis » Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:22 pm

bluebell wrote:Opened Qtractor, loaded Dragonfly into the Master out, UI is displayed properly :-/


It's a Schrödinbugger. You can't put the cat back in the box after it is out.

Edit: I realize that this is a direct contradiction of my previous comment... In case it is not clear, this is kind of a joke.

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby bluebell » Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:01 pm

It seems the bug has gone with latest git head.

EDIT: I was wrong. It still happens.
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

singforme
Established Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby singforme » Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:56 am

Just a quick Thank YOU, it's awesome, I use it all the time!

User avatar
sysrqer
Established Member
Posts: 1823
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby sysrqer » Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:45 am

I've just started using it too and I'm very impressed, thank you!

User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Contact:

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby lilith » Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:42 pm

I used Dragonfly in a recent Renoise project. And somehow the plugin has some issues. There is some kind of "feedback noise" generated by Dragonfly sometimes and it makes the sound of the whole project completely go off. Observed a similar issue once in Ardour.
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93
latest: https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93/days-of-terror
_____________________________
Debian 9 (XFCE) & KXStudio repos

User avatar
Michael Willis
Established Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains, North America
Contact:

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby Michael Willis » Wed Jan 16, 2019 4:00 pm

lilith wrote:I used Dragonfly in a recent Renoise project. And somehow the plugin has some issues. There is some kind of "feedback noise" generated by Dragonfly sometimes and it makes the sound of the whole project completely go off. Observed a similar issue once in Ardour.

I'm really sorry about this bug. Out of a large number of people who have used Dragonfly Reverb, you are only the third person to report this. As of yet I have not found a consistent way to reproduce it. If you can report any more details, that would be really helpful. Even better would be if you can send me a minimal DAW session that repeatably exhibits this bug.

User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Contact:

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby lilith » Wed Jan 16, 2019 4:03 pm

Michael Willis wrote:
lilith wrote:I used Dragonfly in a recent Renoise project. And somehow the plugin has some issues. There is some kind of "feedback noise" generated by Dragonfly sometimes and it makes the sound of the whole project completely go off. Observed a similar issue once in Ardour.

I'm really sorry about this bug. Out of a large number of people who have used Dragonfly Reverb, you are only the third person to report this. As of yet I have not found a consistent way to reproduce it. If you can report any more details, that would be really helpful. Even better would be if you can send me a minimal DAW session that repeatably exhibits this bug.


No problem :D It didn't happen when I started with the project, but just yesterday. I think with Renoise it will be difficult to get more infos. With Ardour it might be possible to get a crash dump. What DAW did the other 3 users use? Yesterday I had had to open the project three time until it was working.
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93
latest: https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93/days-of-terror
_____________________________
Debian 9 (XFCE) & KXStudio repos

User avatar
Michael Willis
Established Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains, North America
Contact:

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby Michael Willis » Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:04 am

bluebell wrote:It seems the bug has gone with latest git head.

EDIT: I was wrong. It still happens.

lilith wrote:No problem :D It didn't happen when I started with the project, but just yesterday. I think with Renoise it will be difficult to get more infos. With Ardour it might be possible to get a crash dump. What DAW did the other 3 users use? Yesterday I had had to open the project three time until it was working.


Please try the latest and let me know if it fixes the problems that either of you are experiencing:

https://github.com/michaelwillis/dragon ... /tag/1.1.4

For anybody interested in the details, Robin Gareus (x42) recommended that I run valgrind and resolve any reported issues. Valgrind notified me that some places in freeverb3 were using uninitialized values in functions called by the constructor of the late reverb algorithm. I fixed that, but I'm still not certain whether it fixes either bug. I'm hoping that the bugs reported by bluebell and lilith are actually caused by the same problem, just manifested in two different ways.

Edit: Nevermind, the bug still happens... soooo frustrating. Oh well, the "good news" is that I now have an Ardour session that regularly has this bug, it seems to happen about once every three or four times I start the session, so at least now I have a somewhat consistent way to test it.

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby bluebell » Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:30 pm

I get v1.1.3 from git only.

I can download the 1.1.4 archive but:

Code: Select all

hm@regen:~/src/dragonfly/dragonfly-reverb-1.1.4$ make
Makefile:7: dpf/Makefile.base.mk: No such file or directory
make: *** No rule to make target `dpf/Makefile.base.mk'.  Stop.
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

User avatar
Michael Willis
Established Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains, North America
Contact:

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby Michael Willis » Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:34 pm

bluebell wrote:I get v1.1.3 from git only.

I can download the 1.1.4 archive but:

Code: Select all

hm@regen:~/src/dragonfly/dragonfly-reverb-1.1.4$ make
Makefile:7: dpf/Makefile.base.mk: No such file or directory
make: *** No rule to make target `dpf/Makefile.base.mk'.  Stop.

I did it on a git branch called `valgrind`, since it was an experimental change.

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby bluebell » Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:48 pm

git clone --recursive -b valgrind https://github.com/michaelwillis/dragonfly-reverb.git

No change. Sometimes the freqencies' display is correct, sometimes only plain white.
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby bluebell » Sat Jan 26, 2019 3:04 pm

I had that rare bug again where dragonfly.lv2 tries to output lots of noise but kills the entire sound in Qtractor. Loading the session again helps. Must be a race condition in the init code.
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

User avatar
Michael Willis
Established Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains, North America
Contact:

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby Michael Willis » Sat Jan 26, 2019 3:36 pm

bluebell wrote:I had that rare bug again where dragonfly.lv2 tries to output lots of noise but kills the entire sound in Qtractor. Loading the session again helps. Must be a race condition in the init code.

Thanks for reporting. When you say "init code", do you mean it happened right after you loaded the session? If so, that's a really helpful clue. I don't ever experience this in the middle of working on a session, it's only sometimes after I load the session.

Also, could you give me more details on your system, like CPU, distro, version of ALSA and/or JACK, version of qtractor, etc.? Thanks!

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby bluebell » Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:36 pm

Michael Willis wrote:
bluebell wrote:I had that rare bug again where dragonfly.lv2 tries to output lots of noise but kills the entire sound in Qtractor. Loading the session again helps. Must be a race condition in the init code.

Thanks for reporting. When you say "init code", do you mean it happened right after you loaded the session? If so, that's a really helpful clue. I don't ever experience this in the middle of working on a session, it's only sometimes after I load the session.

Also, could you give me more details on your system, like CPU, distro, version of ALSA and/or JACK, version of qtractor, etc.? Thanks!


I use Xubuntu 14.04 and 16.04 Core i5 and Core i7 systems with 16 or 32 GB RAM and a SSD.
jackd is 1.9.11, Qtractor is latest from GIT.

I think of some kind init code that is executed when the plugin is loaded. Deactivating/activating it in Qtractor didn't help. Closing and restarting Qtractor and reloading the plugin helped.

Unfortunately Iforgot to ...
- unload/reload the plugin in Qtractor
- unload/reload the Qtractor session without restarting Qtractor

Next time ...
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

User avatar
Michael Willis
Established Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains, North America
Contact:

Re: Dragonfly Hall Reverb

Postby Michael Willis » Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:41 pm

bluebell wrote:Core i5 and Core i7

Ooh, interesting. I never experienced this bug when I was using my old AMD processor, but I recently switched out some of my hardware and now I'm using an i5... It might be happenstance, or it might be another clue.


Return to “Plugins, Effects and Instruments”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests