Little Sunflower

Show off original scores and recordings made with Linux!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Michael Willis
Established Member

Little Sunflower

Post by Michael Willis »

This year I've been learning how to play percussion, and last week my friend let me borrow an electric bass, so I started learning how to play it too. I decided to find a jazz standard with a very simple bass line to try recording both. I also recorded piano, clarinet, and glockenspiel tracks. I was kind of in a hurry, but I think it turned out alright for something thrown together in a week with a bunch of instruments that I barely know how to play :lol:

I tried to mix it lo-fi, which is a new thing for me. As usual, any feedback on the recording or mixing is welcome.

https://soundcloud.com/user-201997735/little-sunflower
Rainmak3r
Established Member

Re: Little Sunflower

Post by Rainmak3r »

If that's what you end up with when you're in a hurry, I wonder what will happen when you have time to sit down :lol:
It's a great track, and very atmospheric, and I think the lo-fi really works (it does give the impression of something recorded in a club in the 40s). The bass line seemed a bit "hidden" though: not sure if it was because of lo-fi cutting some frequencies it needed, or because I was listening on my laptop speakers, I'll listen to it again with some headphones later. I really liked the clarinet and glockenspiel parts too: there could be maybe a tiny bit of additional reverb on the clarinet, as to my ears it sometimes felt like the coda of a note ended too abruptly, but that's probably the virtual orchestrator in me that has never seen a real clarinet in their life, and so think players can just smoothly fade out as with an Ardour fader :mrgreen:
Rainmak3r
Established Member

Post by Rainmak3r »