Time

Show off original scores and recordings made with Linux!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Rainmak3r
Established Member

Time

Post by Rainmak3r »

Hi all,

I recently found hidden in a closet a little toy I didn't remember I had, and I put it to (good) use in this track:

https://soundcloud.com/lminiero/time

Specifically, I bought a Sonuus G2M guitar-to-midi converter probably 10 years ago, and for some reason I never really used it, and forgot about it. Digging around it popped out, and since I was curious, I started playing with it: it worked surprisingly well, and definitely much better than I expected! Monophonic only, of course, but definitely good fun for playing some parts, especially considering it even detects bendings and stuff I wouldn't have expected it to. Since I had a couple of ideas for a track that didn't feel that interesting, I decided to use them to play a bit with it, and this weird 80s inspired thing came out.

While I like the end result, it's probably one of the laziest efforts I ever shared, though. As anticipated, I didn't feel the music ideas particularly interesting (you'll probably find the chord progressions pretty predictable), but as a playground I liked them enough. The main idea I started from was the "ostinato" arpeggio, that gave me the idea of a running clock and time flowing away, thus the name and the silly sound effects: it was supposed to be a muted guitar arpeggio, but since I couldn't get the timing right, I wrote a MIDI part for them instead, and used one of the muted guitar Giga Samples from FlameStudios instead :mrgreen: (told you I was lazy!). Everything else was done as usual, with the exception of bass, where lazyness won once more and I only used a single track instead of three, but using a Guitarix preset to give it a "fatter" sound.