Lars Domino - Längtan (alternative duet)

Show off original scores and recordings made with Linux!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

oscillator
Established Member

Lars Domino - Längtan (alternative duet)

Post by oscillator »

https://youtu.be/VMa5IqcRyh8

As I'm mostly into electronic stuff, I thought I would try a duet with Kajsa, recording more real analog sounds.

The lyrics are in Swedish, and "Längtan" means "longing".

Made with MusE on Debian and some other stuff. The melodica lines are not that good but that is because I am not very good at it, and I had to record it all on 1st take for various reasons. The toy piano has a stuck key... The timing on my piano playing could be better. Well, I like to compose, not perform. But it was great to sing in Swedish again.

MusE DAW running on Debian 11 Testing/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

milo
Established Member

Re: Lars Domino - Längtan (alternative duet)

Post by milo »

I like the toy instrument sounds a lot. The acoustic sounds are very nice all around. I also like the sound of the melodica mixed with the other instruments.

I can't follow the meaning of the lyrics -- the only Swedish word I know is "Längtan," and I just learned that a few minutes ago :) -- but the voices sound very melancholy. The very playful toy piano sound doesn't sound like it fits in such a somber song, but maybe if I understood the lyrics it would make more sense. What are you longing for? Lost childhood, perhaps?
oscillator
Established Member

Post by oscillator »

Thank you for listening, @milo! And for your comments.

The toy piano was more about contrast I think. And the fact that I was just looking around my apartment for stuff to play a (analog) melody on! :)

This is a translation of the first part of the song:

And they say
that death, is nothing to joke about,
as the waves crash

it was so long ago
since we saw land
what did my home look like?
poor but warm

I long for you
but still I know
I was not worth your love