I'm Getting Better

Show off original scores and recordings made with Linux!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

milo
Established Member

I'm Getting Better

Post by milo »

Hey all,

Here is our latest, a disco track called "I'm Getting Better:" https://sanderson.band/2020/07/18/im-getting-better/

This is my first time doing a disco recording, and I was inspired to do it by this thread: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=21440. Thanks to @Gps for the inspiration.

This was done on Linux Mint with Ardour 5.12. It was my first recording to use the FatFrog amp (Thanks @tramp!) and to use sfizz with the Virtual Playing Orchestra (thanks to @Michael Willis in this thread: viewtopic.php?p=121199#p121199)

Also, this song is just begging to have a dancing music video, and I have decided to crowdsource it. If you would like to be in the video, just PM me and I'll give you instructions for where to upload your dancing video. More info and rules on the blog post linked above.

Enjoy!
Basslint
Established Member

Re: I'm Getting Better

Post by Basslint »

I really appreciate variety, and although this is definitely not the kind of music I can enjoy*, I can feel a lot of heart in it and as such, I could appreciate that :D

* = I am more into the funkier disco like Chic and Kool & the Gang while this is closer to the disco tracks made by singer-songwriters and rock bands in the 70s (the Bee Gees' progeny).
The community of believers was of one heart and mind, and no one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they had everything in common. [Acts 4:32]

Please donate time (even bug reports) or money to libre software 🎁

Jam on openSUSE + GeekosDAW!
Gps
Established Member

Post by Gps »

I like it.

It's definitely the disco I like. :)
Tenaba
Established Member

Post by Tenaba »

Really nice, I like the "About the Song" note you've written, it's quite inspiring. I also dig the clean guitar tone you used in the middle of the song (with the spoken word vocals).