How to detect which notes are played? (like in Rocksmith/Yousician)

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

linuxo

How to detect which notes are played? (like in Rocksmith/Yousician)

Post by linuxo »

Hello! :D
I regularly play the guitar with Rocksmith and Yousician but I've found a lot of problems with these softwares which I'd like to fix by creating my own (simpler) version of those.

Since I'm completely new to music with computer (but not new to programming since I'm a Python developer myself) I'd like to have some directions about how to do it:
The main issue is how to detect what is played. If I've understood how music is working with linux, we can use JACK, which looks like a audio driver specifically for jack connection. The signal received from the guitar to the computer is a (digital) audio stream apparently.
So how can I convert it to the notes which are actually played?

Thanks a lot in advance :wink:
noedig
Established Member

Re: How to detect which notes are played? (like in Rocksmith/Yousician)

Post by noedig »

Incidentally I just saw this this morning: https://basicpitch.spotify.com/
Spotify released an open source tool to convert music (audio) to MIDI. I think you can install it with PIP to use in Python.

MOD devices also brought out a new plugin to detect which notes are played on a guitar, so you can play synths with your guitar. I *think* they use Aubio, but you can probably find their source on GitHub (also check falkTX's repos).
tavasti
Established Member

Post by tavasti »

Fishman TriplePlay midi pickup would be pretty 'in a box' solution for that.

Linux veteran & Novice musician

Latest track: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycVrgGtrBmM

scott.thomason
Established Member

Post by scott.thomason »