Why does ardour kill my audio?

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

terzoid801
Established Member

Why does ardour kill my audio?

Post by terzoid801 »

I am a newbie, just got here. I am a fairly technical person but find myself somewhat overwhelmed trying to sort out what I need to do some simple music (synth, drum, recording, sequencing) on my Ubuntu 21.10.

I installed amSynth and got it working and was able to record on Audacity, but could not get it to "see" my sequencer. I think ALSA is installed but I have not tried to install JACK and am not certain I want it.

I googled my eyes out and Ubuntu Studio looks interesting but it seems they want to do a fresh install and after taking months to get this install configured and all my app I really do not want to do that.

So I installed ardour (latest version). I seems to run fine but when it start up my audio goes completely dead, no signal at headphone out. Anyone care to speculate (or ever better know :)) why that is?

Any and all help and advice is appreciated!
Linuxmusician01
Established Member

Re: Why does ardour kill my audio?

Post by Linuxmusician01 »

terzoid801 wrote: Tue Dec 07, 2021 10:18 pm [...]
I installed amSynth and got it working and was able to record on Audacity, but could not get it to "see" my sequencer. I think ALSA is installed but I have not tried to install JACK and am not certain I want it.
First of all: welcome! We're glad to see you. :)

What do you mean by sequencer? Hardware? Software?