For recording electric guitar, Focusrite 2i2 2nd or 3rd gen?

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

JMB238
Established Member

For recording electric guitar, Focusrite 2i2 2nd or 3rd gen?

Post by JMB238 »

hi everyone,

I'm new to audio production on linux and am looking to get started recording and tracking electric guitar. I've looked at a lot of commentary and, as far as audio interfaces go, it seems the FocusRite 2i2 is easily compatible with linux systems, despite the lack of official support from the manufacturer. Anyone else have experience with that interface, positive or negative, they'd be willing to share? From what I've read, it seems maybe 2nd gen is a little more linux-friendly than 3rd gen? But I've also seen some say 3rd gen works perfectly right out of the box too.

For reference: I've got an 8-core Dell laptop with 7.7 GiB Ram running Ubuntu version 20.04.2, 64-bit. I'm planning to setup Ubuntu Studio as well, so hoping the extra features/software make this process a little easier.

Any feedback would be welcome. Thanks all!
milo
Established Member

Re: For recording electric guitar, Focusrite 2i2 2nd or 3rd gen?

Post by milo »

I have a 2nd gen 2i2 and it is great. I haven't used a 3rd gen, so I can't say for sure, but your stated impression matches my general understanding.

You might also consider the similar 2-input Behringer U-phoria device, which is a bit less expensive than the Focusrite device and also works out of the box.
Linuxmusician01
Established Member

Post by Linuxmusician01 »