How to Make ALSA a Working Audio Device w/ Interface in REAPER

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

BobUnderwood
Established Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 7:04 pm

Re: How to Make ALSA a Working Audio Device w/ Interface in REAPER

Post by BobUnderwood »

Another option is to go back to running REAPER on Linux on Chromebook (Crostini) as you know it works. Try it and see if you can tune it to reduce latency.

You may have latency issues with Crostini or Crouton since your Chromebook does not meet REAPER's minimum system requirements.
https://www.reaper.fm/about.php
Your Chromebook has an Atom (Intel family of processors); x86_64 = Core, i686 = Itanium
Largos
Established Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 12:21 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: How to Make ALSA a Working Audio Device w/ Interface in REAPER

Post by Largos »

Unanamis wrote: Sat Jul 17, 2021 7:27 pm JACK is not currently installed. But at this point, it's looking like I might need to use it.
Are you sure JACK is not installed because you said it was listed in your reaper options?

maybe run

Code: Select all

apt list --installed | grep jack
to make sure.
BobUnderwood
Established Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 7:04 pm

Re: How to Make ALSA a Working Audio Device w/ Interface in REAPER

Post by BobUnderwood »

I found an article on the Crouton wiki that seems to be directly on point:
https://github.com/dnschneid/crouton/wi ... LSA,-JACK)
Try ALSA to hardware first.
Unanamis
Established Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 12:57 am

Chromebook as a DAW w/ an Audio Interface

Post by Unanamis »

Success has been had! Yes!

I had to figure out how to make a file with contents,
~~~
> .asoundrc
xdg-open .asoundrc
~~~
and then put the contents found on https://github.com/dnschneid/crouton/wi ... LSA,-JACK)
~~~
# ~/.asoundrc
# overrides default alsa settings
# To revert back to CRAS, change "type hw" with "type cras". You do not have to change "card".

pcm.!default {
type hw
card UMC1820
}

ctl.!default {
type hw
card UMC1820
}
~~~
into the mousepad window, but once I did that, it worked!

REAPER was slower on start up, but I could use ALSA as an audio device and have multiple inputs.

The final process I needed to do was click "view" on my user file manager and then hit "Show hidden files" so that I could rewrite the code to use cras again. Wahoo! Finally an answer to this two month problem!
BobUnderwood
Established Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 7:04 pm

Re: How to Make ALSA a Working Audio Device w/ Interface in REAPER

Post by BobUnderwood »

Congrats! I'm glad that everything is working for you.
Post Reply