From Mac to Linux

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

GB71
Established Member

From Mac to Linux

Post by GB71 »

Greetings everyone. (Shout out to Arnout for activating my account. Thank you.) Linux newbie here, preparing to make the eventual leap from Mac to Linux in the future. I've been experimenting with Linux over the last couple of months, on an old 2009 MacBook Pro, doing some distro hopping, before landing on Ubuntu Studio 20.04.2. I initially settled on AV Linux-MXE, but I couldn't get Bitwig to install on it. So, I tried Mint, Ubuntu standard, and Pop! OS; all of which I got Bitwig to install on just fine.

Mint was nice, but had tons of crackling audio and CPU overloads with only a few plugins, on the standard kernel. Ubuntu standard was worse; an absolute crash fest. It was not an enjoyable experience in the least. Same crackling audio and CPU overloads, combined with intermittent OS crashes, even when I wasn't running Bitwig. Then, I tried Pop! OS, which I really enjoyed the look and feel, but could not get it to boot the low latency kernel. It too suffered from crackling and CPU overloads. I was getting ready to give up on Linux altogether, because I had ran Bitwig on that same MacBook Pro under High Sierra, with no overload issues.

Then I tried Ubuntu Studio. Given the poor experience I had with Ubuntu standard, I was reluctant to install it.

It worked like a charm!