What is the minimum I need for basic audio mixing?

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

blockflute
Established Member

What is the minimum I need for basic audio mixing?

Post by blockflute »

I am completely new to this - had never heard of a DAW before this week!

I generally use Debian, a fairly customised installation but with the stock kernel. I have tried simply installing Ardour from the deb repos, and it worked ok: I was able to import a track a friend sent me, add one of my own, and export the result. I can't imagine ever doing anything a great deal more complicated than that, and I don't think I would be looking at long pieces or more than, say, 4 or 5 tracks. I will be doing this on a laptop - a Thinkpad X1 3rd gen, so not the very latest, but not bad. I might add some sort of external sound card. I only anticipate recording sound from an acoustic source via a microphone, not working with electronic inputs, midi, or special effects.

Would installing a complete linux that is geared to AV work really be useful/necessary? It would include eg a low-latency kernel, though I had no problem with the stock one, and presumably other things would be configured for max benefit to AV software (so I wouldn't get the memory restrictions message Ardour currently gives me at startup), but I have no idea how much any of this matters.