What Linux dist could i use?¿

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

MindXhao

What Linux dist could i use?¿

Post by MindXhao »

Hello there! I'm new to Linux.

I would like to know what distribution of GNU/Linux i could use for musical production.

I read some people use Debian, if you could send me more information about this i'd be very glad.

Thanks for your time in advance!
Lèyon di li Neûris′
Established Member
Location: County of Hainaut where people should speak walloonish. Integrated to something called: “Belgium”.

Re: What Linux dist could i use?¿

Post by Lèyon di li Neûris′ »

Salute to you,
As entirely free distributions for music, there's:
  • Dynebolic (but the last release is really old, you can keep an eye on it but I don't recommand you to use it),
  • Musix (almost as old and not maintained anymore, so, I highly recommand you not to use it, I talk nostalgicly about it as my previous attempt to make music with computer was with that distribution that I liked a lot)
There's also:
  • and certainly a few others
But you can use any distribution and install the needed programs. Here is a very good tutorial on that topic (for Majaro, but you can adapt it to any distribution by taking in consideration other packaging system if needed — that's what I did this time indeed): https://tube.netzspielplatz.de/videos/w ... f2ddc170f1
Here is the list of the entirely free distributions.
And of course, this forum is full of informations (I only scratched the surface).
God bless you.
Excuse my not so bad imperialist language.
Je parle:
-français (langue maternelle),
-ein bisschen Deutsch,
-on topau walon,
-een beetje Nederlands,
-je signe peu la langue des signes de Belgique francophone,
-я чуть чуть говорю по-русски,
-a trochu česky.
d.healey
Established Member

Post by d.healey »

I use Debian
David Healey