play backing track from computer to headphones, record from micro and backing track

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

grond
Established Member

play backing track from computer to headphones, record from micro and backing track

Post by grond »

Hello everyone,

total Linux-musician newbie here. I have been using Linux exclusively at home since some time in the late 90s but never really used it for music. When I started with Linux I did a lot of things by hand like compiling kernels with some options and modules I personally needed but over the years I got more and more lazy to the point that I have been using stock ubuntu now for over a decade (currently plain 20.04 LTS). Since Linux is always evolving, a lot of things I once knew are outdated (if not forgotten anyway) but I think I can still consider myself an experienced Linux user. Nonetheless, everything about audio on linux seems totally overwhelming.

So far I have happily used Transcribe!, a commercial program for slowing down recordings in order to transcribe them and practice playing along to the slowed-down recordings. For writing tablature I use lilypond, frescobaldi and Musescore (after producing some totally awesome looking tablature with the first two mentioned, laziness took over again and I now mostly use Musescore). I use audacity for cutting the songs from the recordings of our acoustic jams that I make with a Zoom H5 - only very basic use, really, I load the three hours of jam and cut the songs we play out of the endless talking into individual files... :)