Getting Delta 1010 working in Ubuntu Studio 19.10

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

ChuckLutz
Established Member

Getting Delta 1010 working in Ubuntu Studio 19.10

Post by ChuckLutz »

Hi folks,

I'm trying to get back into music recording with Linux; I'm not a total noob, but my first time around was with a very old P4 machine in which I just used the built-in soundcard input (sad, I know!) and mainly used Audacity on older Ubuntu Studio releases to record plain 2-track stereo jam sessions. I'm a techie guy (write mainly Python code these days for a living) and am familiar with Linux in general. However I've never mastered the audio stack (ALSA, Jack, etc.) beyond the basics. On that previous setup things must have been pretty "obvious" with the built-in sound card, since I was able to get it to work with a bit of brute-force fiddling with connections (probably in QJackCtrl if I recall correctly).

A while back I did a bit of research and got a used old Delta 1010 (not the LT version) off of eBay and picked up a newish machine (way better than the old P4 with 1G of ram anyhow!). I've recently installed Ubuntu Studio 19.10 on it. From what I can gather, the 1010 is pretty reliable and should work well under Linux, but I'm having a hard time getting going with it and to be honest I'm not quite sure where to start. I've screwed around in Ardour, envy24control, Qjackctrl, and some command line utilities, but I can't seem to get any sound coming into it.