[Ableton Live 10]VST-Plugins not detected

Discuss running non-Linux applications and plugins on Linux, for example via wine

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

monologue
Established Member

[Ableton Live 10]VST-Plugins not detected

Post by monologue »

Hello Guys,

I am fairly new to Linux and therefore do experience a lot of problems inasmuch as I need to work with Ableton via wine. As I have just arrived here fairly new, I'll like to participate here more often while leaving Windows finally.

My Problem however is that Ableton Live 10 does not detect my VST-Files (FXpansion Etch, -Maul & -Bloom as a starting point). Thats pretty it, the scan reveals nothing and I had quite a way to come so far:

- Setting up a new OS (again): Ubuntu 20.04.3 LTS
- Installing Low-Latency-Kernel, setting up jackd
- Installing wine-staging 6.20 (latest version), also winetricks and some dependencies.
- Installing Ableton Live Suite 10.x.x
- Cannot choose VST-Folders because of a Bug.
- Remove Wine, etc.
- Install wine-staging 6.17, blacklist updating
- Choosing VST-Folder in Ableton works fine!
- Still not seeing the files, therefore installing yabridge and adding those VST-paths.
- Still no files detectable.

So I'm out of options: I know there are a lot of postings concerning Ableton but I did not recognize my problem somewhere. I even experience many posts that state how well VST-Plugins work.
Shall I try using Ableton Live via PlayOnLinux or Lutris?

Thanks in advance, I really appreciate your help.

/edit: I tried the same with Arturia Pigments and it works, athough not the licensing when it comes to log into the account! So it depends on FXpansion but nevertheless the question: Is there any way to do a work around?
Toejam76
Established Member

Re: [Ableton Live 10]VST-Plugins not detected

Post by Toejam76 »