Need help to install Kontakt & Spitfire on Pop_OS 20.10

Discuss running non-Linux applications and plugins on Linux, for example via wine

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Rezgi
Established Member

Need help to install Kontakt & Spitfire on Pop_OS 20.10

Post by Rezgi »

Hi everyone,
I've been trying to install Native Access but no success after many tries. I'm still a bit new to Linux & Wine, so here's my status :

- I'm running Pop_OS 20.10 with native Reaper and Studio Controls to manage audio & midi, it's working fine
- I tried installing Native Access but I get stuck at the update screen (I never reached the iso download screen)
- I tried using wine-staging then wine-stable which I'm using now : wine-5.0 (Ubuntu 5.0-3ubuntu1). I had the same issue with both
- I tried installing the web drivers as in this wine NativeAccess review page but I get this error message when using WineTricks to install said drivers : sha256sum mismatch! Rename /home/rezgipop/.cache/winetricks/win7sp1/windows6.1-KB976932-X86.exe and try again. Which I do, I renamed the file and run winetricks again to install them but I get the same error over again.

I've read many posts about Kontakt & Spitfire and I can't really grasp the whole process, I'd be glad if someone could help me along the setup. I'm so jealous of guys who have Spitfire & Kontakt running :) Thanks !!
NomadJago
Established Member

Re: Need help to install Kontakt & Spitfire on Pop_OS 20.10

Post by NomadJago »

Let's try Spitfire first--- I had great success with that just the other day. Make sure you have just about all things wine you can find in synaptic. And install carla git packages from synaptic include carla bidge (there are several), carla vst wine, carla vst, carla lv2, carla git data.

Make sure you have a lot of JACK stuff installed from synaptic, including Qjackctl.