[SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Discuss running non-Linux applications and plugins on Linux, for example via wine

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

[SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by Mk2 »

Hello,

there something strange with it :

last hour i had sound in bitwig but only with hardware library from 2.5 ... when clicking play button down-left.
(it's like it not receive note from the piano roll..)

the standalone works good with pusleaudio>jack-sink but i dunno how to make work this plugin. Serum works, Cthulu not sending midi note, some x64 crashes depending libraries added... but Omnisphere is very hard.

i know some users made Omnisphere 1 work perfectly on linux. Anyone knows how to do with it ? (libraries, etc...)

my system :

bitwig studio 2 + wine-staging 4.3 (i think winprefix 64 bits, pretty sure..) + LinVst-2.4.3-Debian-Stretch (binary release)

... since yesterday i have not sleep, trying to get it working.

Help will be greatly appreciated !
Last edited by Mk2 on Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by Mk2 »

to resume :

i use no added libraries > got sound if i press the play sound button down left in the plugin gui (with all sounds), but Omnisphere (2) does not receive midi notes by piano roll, except if i use the hardware library of omnisphere 2.5 patch (hardware library sounds).

very strange issue.

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by Linuxmusician01 »

There seem to be 2 topics in which you post about this problem. This is the other topic: viewtopic.php?f=62&t=13686&start=150.

I agree that the Omnisphere 2 Windows VST plugin problem probably shouldn't be there. But would you like to look in that other topic anyway to read what we wrote to help you until now? And ask us to reply in this here topic?

Anyway, it's a bit difficult to understand exactly what the problem is. Here's what I've come to know until now:
  1. You use the Linux native version of the Bitwig DAW.
  2. You are trying to get a Windows VST called "Omnisphere" to work in said DAW.
  3. The Linux native version of Bitwig only supports Linux native VST's so you have to use a so-called VST bridge to be able to load Windwos VST's in Bitwig.
  4. You started out to use Airwave as a bridge but that didn't work and Airwave is probably not supported anymore.
  5. So you switched to LinVST as your bridge which seems to work for some of your other Windows VST's so LinVST is probably correctly installed.
  6. Omnisphere is a 64 bit Windows VST so Wine is probably not the problem, neither is it a problem that LinVST needs a certain configuration for 32 bit Windows VST's to work.
Am I right?

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by Mk2 »

yes, but i'm discouraged, i tried a lot but wont work. i think to abandon.

this plugin is marevelous !

:(

======

edit: in fact, i've been malad in January... i was alcoolic... then i was in bed, could not be drunk... so i stopped & drinked beers... and so i had a bit more money so i make a credit to buy Omnisphere, it's my #1 fav plugin. Too sad i can't use on linux :(((((( i gonna be obliged to go back to horrible windows... + carla is too hard to understand.

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by Mk2 »

pb solved !

i copy / paste your tell :
Linuxmusician01 wrote:
Mk2 wrote:but if i install bitwig with wine, i can use jack audio in wine version ? works like windows ?
Good question, I don't know. Someone else will. You might have to switch to WiniASIO or something. But you can at least test if the VST works like you expect it to. I take it that if you payed for Bitwig than you can download and try the Windows version and/or the Linux version?
Mk2 wrote:can't wine bitwig.msi :

$ wine Bit*
wine: Mauvais format EXE pour O:\Téléchargements\Bitwig.msi.

...

there a chance omnisphere works with carla ?
I don't speak French so I don't know what that error message means or what you tried to do... If I were you I'd install Carla (do you use the KXStudio repository? You should!). Then in Carla do:
  1. Go to: "Settings -> Configure Carla -> Main". Under "Experimental" tick "Enable experimental features".
  2. In the Settings Windows go to "Experimental" and tick "Enable plugin bridges" and "Enable Wine bridges".
  3. Restart Carla.
Then:
  1. Go to: "Settings -> Configure Carla -> Paths"
  2. Click on the pull down menu and choose "VST". Add the path to your Windows VST's, for instance: /home/your_name/vst/ or /home/your_name/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/vstplugins etc.
  3. To be sure enable all Wine things in the Wine part of the Settings window.
  4. Click "Add plugin" in Carla's main menu.
  5. Make sure you tick "VST", "Instruments" and "Bridged (Wine)". Notice that in Carla the term "Bridged (32 bit)" means native (Linux) VST's that are 32 bit (most Linux installations on computers are 64 bit now a days).
  6. Click on the "Scan" button at the top right.
  7. Yet another dialog window will pop up. That window is called "Refresh". Now tick "VST", "Windows 32 bit" and "Wndows 64 bit". Check that in the info panel on the right it says, among others: "Carla-discovery-win32" and "Carla-discovery-win64".
  8. Press "Scan" (wait a long time) and "Close". You'll be back in the "Carla - Add new" window, tick "Bridged (Wine)" again (on my PC it was deselected again).
  9. Pray that your beloved Windows VST will pop up.
Good luck. :)
1000 THX !!! :D

jonetsu
Established Member
Posts: 1941
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 12:05 am

Re: Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by jonetsu »

Mk2 wrote:pb solved !
Well, it's great that you got it working with Carla. Maybe one day I'll give Omnisphere another try, if they have a demo version.

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by Mk2 »

jonetsu wrote:
Mk2 wrote:pb solved !
Well, it's great that you got it working with Carla. Maybe one day I'll give Omnisphere another try, if they have a demo version.
in the past, i was cr**ing all like kids do when they got no money...

today i got no money still lol... but i have a banker that makes me a credit.

just to say in the past i tested Atmosphere & fallen in love... so Omnisphere 2.5 i could not miss it ! :D

if u don't want DL torr*** all 65 Gb VSTi + Library you DL' the installer only. maybe u can use oscillators...

but the better is to watch Demo on official site. its not illegal.

jonetsu
Established Member
Posts: 1941
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 12:05 am

Re: Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by jonetsu »

Mk2 wrote:but the better is to watch Demo on official site. its not illegal.
Yeah but the way that I do with Windows VST is that I have to actually try a demo before considering getting it. I will certainly not buy a $500 unsupported product if I can't give it a good try.

As for Omnisphere and Carla: I'd like to help but I don't run any of them, so I better shut off. 8)

Hoping your banker is better than the macaron.

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by Mk2 »

jonetsu wrote:
Mk2 wrote:but the better is to watch Demo on official site. its not illegal.
Yeah but the way that I do with Windows VST is that I have to actually try a demo before considering getting it. I will certainly not buy a $500 unsupported product if I can't give it a good try.

As for Omnisphere and Carla: I'd like to help but I don't run any of them, so I better shut off. 8)

Hoping your banker is better than the macaron.
i hate "macaron" lol.

the banker is good, i take care...

for carla-rack it gives me this error :

https://i.imgur.com/8VULsZM.png

"this Carla Build cannot handle this binary."

(i got carla-git from synaptics and in my home folder i got carla 2.0 RC4.)

how to fix this ?

edit: problem solved with this :

sudo apt install carla-bridge-win32 carla-bridge-win64

...

User avatar
sysrqer
Established Member
Posts: 1969
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by sysrqer »

I'm confused, you are using windows bitwig in wine but trying to load windows vsts with carla from within the windows bitwig?

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by Mk2 »

no its native bitwig linux, with carla for wine vst..

Fourstepper
Established Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 5:47 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by Fourstepper »

Omnisphere doesn't really show GUI for me, but seems to run fine otherwise.. any help in that regards?

Thanks!!!

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1527
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by glowrak guy »

Hi, not knowing your frame of reference, I suggest to install
the windows versions of U-he Zebra 2.8, KV331 Synthmaster One,
and Seaweed Audio Fathom, and use the Reaper demo for testing.
Install the plugins in .wine/drive_c/Users/Public/Documents,
and add a vstplugins folder there for the .dll's.
These guis all work for me without problems, so if they also
work for you, then we can look at what wine version you have,
wine over-rides that might help, your graphics chip/card
and kernel support for those graphics.

Do you currently have some commercial windows plugins with gui
and sound working fine? That might obviate doing the installs I mention.
Cheers

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by Mk2 »

Fourstepper wrote:Omnisphere doesn't really show GUI for me, but seems to run fine otherwise.. any help in that regards?

Thanks!!!
u must use 'gdiplus' library in winecfg, if not enough try add also 'd2d1' library.

edit: omisphere 2.6 released :D

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1527
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Omnisphere 2.. (or 1...)

Post by glowrak guy »

Thanks for the clarification. For people who have not yet added
things like gdiplus, this is referred to as an 'override'.
The wine library .dll files will be in .wine/drive_c/windows/system32

Start winecfg, (it's the wine config gui)
In the winecfg library tab, there is
a simple gui area to select a windows .dll file that you have obtained,
(there are several dll download sites)
I rename the original, gdiplusDEFAULT so its easy to find in a filemanager,
then copy the real one using a filemanager gui.

Then in wine cfg library tab, type in the name of the .dll file,
omitting the .dll extension itself, and press the apply button.

I have installed the .dll overrides that Mk2 mentions
as part of getting other windows plugins
in a working state.

I use the latest wine-staging from wineHQ, and am very happy with the results.
This involves

fully removing all distro wine installs,
adding the wine-staging repository to your package manager repository list,
updating your package manager listing
installing wine-staging from the fresh listing
and then reinstalling any needed audio dependencies
that had to be removed while deleting the distro wine version.

The reaper linux forum has a good topic on using
windows plugins, among other related discussions.

Cheers

https://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=52

Post Reply