Airwave VST bridge

Discuss running non-Linux applications and plugins on Linux, for example via wine

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

jonetsu
Established Member
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 12:05 am

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby jonetsu » Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:20 pm

Linuxmusician01 wrote:
jonetsu wrote:
Mk2 wrote:but if i install bitwig with wine, i can use jack audio in wine version ? works like windows ?

Now why in the world would want to run the Windows Bitwig version in Linux when there's a native Linux Bitwig ?

To see if his beloved VST will work. It looks like it doesn't play well with LinVST as a bridge. So to eliminate bridge software one might consider desperate measures.

Yeah, it seems that everything revolves around Omnisphere. Ah well. So much for that. I do not run Omnisphere. A principle I've established with the running of Windows plugins in Bitwig and Mixbus32C Linux is to keep it simple. And so far so good.

Linuxmusician01 wrote:BTW I'm slowly getting small bad vibes from your replies. Are you angry with me? No hard feelings on my side. :)

Well, when you say that "Bitwig supports VST according to its website, but I think that they mean Linux native VST's, not Windows VST's" then I have to correct it and say that VST is VST no matter what. And I have shown with the screen shot that Windows VST are running just fine in Linux Bitwig. It might go against a conception of sorts about VSTs, but it's actually factual.

And that does not include Omnisphere :)

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby Mk2 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:52 pm

Linuxmusician01 wrote:
Mk2 wrote:but if i install bitwig with wine, i can use jack audio in wine version ? works like windows ?

Good question, I don't know. Someone else will. You might have to switch to WiniASIO or something. But you can at least test if the VST works like you expect it to. I take it that if you payed for Bitwig than you can download and try the Windows version and/or the Linux version?

Mk2 wrote:can't wine bitwig.msi :

$ wine Bit*
wine: Mauvais format EXE pour O:\Téléchargements\Bitwig.msi.

...

there a chance omnisphere works with carla ?

I don't speak French so I don't know what that error message means or what you tried to do... If I were you I'd install Carla (do you use the KXStudio repository? You should!). Then in Carla do:

  1. Go to: "Settings -> Configure Carla -> Main". Under "Experimental" tick "Enable experimental features".
  2. In the Settings Windows go to "Experimental" and tick "Enable plugin bridges" and "Enable Wine bridges".
  3. Restart Carla.

Then:

  1. Go to: "Settings -> Configure Carla -> Paths"
  2. Click on the pull down menu and choose "VST". Add the path to your Windows VST's, for instance: /home/your_name/vst/ or /home/your_name/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/vstplugins etc.
  3. To be sure enable all Wine things in the Wine part of the Settings window.
  4. Click "Add plugin" in Carla's main menu.
  5. Make sure you tick "VST", "Instruments" and "Bridged (Wine)". Notice that in Carla the term "Bridged (32 bit)" means native (Linux) VST's that are 32 bit (most Linux installations on computers are 64 bit now a days).
  6. Click on the "Scan" button at the top right.
  7. Yet another dialog window will pop up. That window is called "Refresh". Now tick "VST", "Windows 32 bit" and "Wndows 64 bit". Check that in the info panel on the right it says, among others: "Carla-discovery-win32" and "Carla-discovery-win64".
  8. Press "Scan" (wait a long time) and "Close". You'll be back in the "Carla - Add new" window, tick "Bridged (Wine)" again (on my PC it was deselected again).
  9. Pray that your beloved Windows VST will pop up.

Good luck. :)


héhé !!! MARVELOUS !!! YOU THE ONE !!!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

are there options to hide Rack and directly show plugin GUI ?

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby Mk2 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:39 pm

hey ! i think i got 2 carla installed on my system :

the carla-git from synaptics, and downloaded the 2.0 RC4 release binary on github...

how do i replace the synaptics'one with the 2.0 RC4 ?

had a crash, probably a memory leak (?), i not limited memory usage in O²... and i think bitwig uses carla rack from non compatible VST carla-rack but unsure...

edit: nvm, i got one carla install. it's 2.0 RC4 (showed in infos/about carla & carla-rack).

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby Mk2 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 6:38 pm

the Serum 32 bits & 64 bits give me an error when showing GUI when in rack, but the window is just "squared" / transparent... i must press ENTER.

why ? possible to fix ?

User avatar
sysrqer
Established Member
Posts: 1783
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby sysrqer » Wed Mar 06, 2019 8:13 pm

Sorry if you mentioned it already but which version of wine are you using?
I've had serum working but the gui was really resource intensive so I didn't explore it much more.

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby Mk2 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 8:38 pm

sysrqer wrote:Sorry if you mentioned it already but which version of wine are you using?
I've had serum working but the gui was really resource intensive so I didn't explore it much more.


its 4.3 staging.

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:11 pm

@jonetsu: thank you for the info that you provided. I learned from you. :)

@Mk2: glad you got it working w/ Carla. Installing a somewhat complicated piece of new software, a new repository, getting rid of all the double installations etc., etc. is not for the faint of heart but you did it! If I were you I'd be proud of myself. It can be a long struggle sometimes to find utilities and software that meet your needs. Especially in Linux because there are multiple (free, open source) alternatives for almost anything!

Mk2 wrote:are there options to hide Rack and directly show plugin GUI ?

I wish there was: it's the reason I tried Airwave and LinVST. Maybe the developer of this wonderful piece of Carla software will implement it some day. Sometimes I've got 3 VST's open via Carla and therefore 3 of those Carla rack windows. Oh well, you can't have everything...

artofmusic
Established Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 8:01 pm

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby artofmusic » Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:48 pm

Carla --> Enable Experimental Features --> Export as LV2 --> drop a plugin in Carla --> Export as LV2 --> check your lv2 is in a directory that your DAW can see in its plugin scanner. That's the workaround for now. LinVst, in my opinion, is the most stable and compatible of all the bridges, not to mention the most up to date.

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby Mk2 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 10:46 pm

artofmusic wrote:Carla --> Enable Experimental Features --> Export as LV2 --> drop a plugin in Carla --> Export as LV2 --> check your lv2 is in a directory that your DAW can see in its plugin scanner. That's the workaround for now. LinVst, in my opinion, is the most stable and compatible of all the bridges, not to mention the most up to date.


i did not know u can export to LV2, i will maybe test...

but for now, i made a "compromise" between Carla & LinVST :

Omnisphere crash/bugs on LinVST so i use a folder for omnisphere.dll for Carla, and the other folder uses LinVST (serum, Chtulu, ABL2.) :

this is very stable : i launched last hour a trax with 10 serum and 20 omnisphere wihch is very cpu hungry...

(traxx is still playing... no issue.)

on windows with 4 omnisphere i'm at 80 % CPU/DSP...

on linux with 10 serum + 20 omnisphere im at 60-70-80 % ...

artofmusic
Established Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 8:01 pm

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby artofmusic » Wed Mar 06, 2019 10:53 pm

WOW! Windows seem pretty inefficient. I guess its those damn tiles eating everything up.

Mk2
Established Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:28 pm

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby Mk2 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:12 pm

btw, about LinVST... is it normal that when i exit bitwig the "lin-vst-server.exe.so" are keep running in task manager ?

i got to "kill" every tasks (3) ....

it's a bug / issue ?

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Thu Mar 07, 2019 1:26 pm

artofmusic wrote:Carla --> Enable Experimental Features --> Export as LV2 --> drop a plugin in Carla --> Export as LV2 --> check your lv2 is in a directory that your DAW can see in its plugin scanner. That's the workaround for now.

Thanks for pointing that out! That might get rid of alle the Carla-rack windows. Unfortunately I get the error "Operation failed. Operation unavailable in plugin version." when I try that. When the dev of KXStudio (and Carla) is active again I might ask for some help on that. :)

jonetsu
Established Member
Posts: 1400
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 12:05 am

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby jonetsu » Thu Mar 07, 2019 1:48 pm

Mk2 wrote:btw, about LinVST... is it normal that when i exit bitwig the "lin-vst-server.exe.so" are keep running in task manager ? i got to "kill" every tasks (3) .... it's a bug / issue ?

I also see that. I dropped a word about it to ubuntuuser elsewhere in this section. Looks like it might have something to do with wine. This will not happen if you disable the audio before exiting Bitwig. Right-click on the blue bar graph at the top to the left of the BPM -> "desactivate for this project".

Just in case, a "killall lin-vst-server.exe.so" does it for all.

tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby tavasti » Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:57 am

Linuxmusician01 wrote:This topic is quite old and it appears that the package of Airwave is not actively maintained/updated anymore. In this topic @sysrqer says that airwave, unfortunately, "is pretty much dead".

Dead or not, but I have had at least once situation where one vst did not work for me with carla or linvst, but with airwave it works.

Linuxmusician01 wrote:I'd rather use Carla for Windows VST 32- and 64 bit support. Just my 2 cents.

Airwave and linvst do not make any 32/64 conversion, so if you are running your daw in 64 bit system, carla is most likely only way to get 32 bit vst working. On the other hand, in LMMS (vestige) only 32 bit plugins work. And sure, if you are running in 32 bit system, you need 32 bit plugins with linvst / airwave.

Or running 32 bit plugins in 64 bit daw can be supported on some daw, but definitely not in Ardour / Mixbus
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: Airwave VST bridge

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:38 pm

tavasti wrote:[...] Airwave and linvst do not make any 32/64 conversion, so if you are running your daw in 64 bit system, carla is most likely only way to get 32 bit vst working. On the other hand, in LMMS (vestige) only 32 bit plugins work. And sure, if you are running in 32 bit system, you need 32 bit plugins with linvst / airwave.

Or running 32 bit plugins in 64 bit daw can be supported on some daw, but definitely not in Ardour / Mixbus

LinVST does support 32 bit VST's on a 64 bit system. You need to use the precompiled binaries or compile it from source after re-naming the file "Makefile-embed-6432" to "Makefile". And make sure that you also installed the so-called "multilib versions" of g++ and gcc! At the moment 32 bit VST's bridged via LinVST do not work in Qtractor on my system, but it does in other DAW's (maybe even Ardour). However, 64 bit VST's via LinVST do work in Qtractor. :)
Last edited by Linuxmusician01 on Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.


Return to “Running non-linux software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest