Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

MusE is a MIDI/Audio sequencer with recording and editing capabilities, aiming to be a complete multitrack virtual studio for Linux. https://muse-sequencer.org/

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, spamatica

User avatar
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: SWEDEN
Contact:

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by oscillator »

Thanks you for testing, @kybos ! I will do some additional testing myself tonight and get back to you.

New projects work like a charm with the latest master -- I use it for production already. I don't want to leave the tabbed interface as it improves my workflow a lot! Awesome work!
MusE DAW running on Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

User avatar
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: SWEDEN
Contact:

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by oscillator »

Ok, these are my findings:

1. Tried with Qt Default theme, Fusion and Windows, opening my project with the missing sample in drumkv1. Got the same behaviour: Hanging at the "Cant find sample" dialog from drumkv1.

2. Created -- like you -- a new project, added a drumkv1 instance, added a WAV/sound, saved, deleted the sound, reopened the project. No dialog. Song loaded (w/o the sound).

3. Downloaded 3.1.1 (before your branch was merged) and I get the same error.

So it has no connection to what you have done! It is some old error in MusE that I have not experienced before. Just back luck that it appeared right now. But my guess is it has something to do with a change of the settings (they did change with 3.1.1?) or file format (changed?).

Anyway, I don't think you have to think about it. My problem is that I can't load my old project! :) (I guess I can fix it by editing the .med file in a test editor.)
MusE DAW running on Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

User avatar
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: SWEDEN
Contact:

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by oscillator »

oscillator wrote:
Sun Sep 06, 2020 6:29 pm
Anyway, I don't think you have to think about it. My problem is that I can't load my old project! :) (I guess I can fix it by editing the .med file in a test editor.)
No, can't find it in the .med, seems to be buried in a patch blob. Maybe the the strategy in the future is to copy all drum sounds and samples to the song project folder for portability. But it really is strange that drumkv1 doesn't report any errors with new projects even if a sample is missing...
MusE DAW running on Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

User avatar
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: SWEDEN
Contact:

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by oscillator »

oscillator wrote:
Sun Sep 06, 2020 6:34 pm
But it really is strange that drumkv1 doesn't report any errors with new projects even if a sample is missing...
Oh, not so strange. It is not drumkv1, the missing file is in simpledrums, which reports the error. Sorry for making this mistake and taking up your time with the bug hunt.

Code: Select all

QString("Can't find sample: %1 - Choose sample").arg(filename)
Now it is repeatable even in new projects. I will file a bug report regarding SimpleDrums, because the error was there before your latest update to the master.
MusE DAW running on Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

Post Reply