Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

MusE is a MIDI/Audio sequencer with recording and editing capabilities, aiming to be a complete multitrack virtual studio for Linux. https://muse-sequencer.org/

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, spamatica

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by Tim E. Real »

In git master now:
@kybos has created a refreshing change to our GUI style.

This replaces the GUI Style tab in the Global Settings.
All the 'sub-window' settings are gone.
Instead, look in the Views tab for some much simpler settings.

It is a modern tabbed MDI arrangement. He refers to it as a hybrid, keeping a bit of the old behaviour.
Each window can be tabbed or floating if you like. Look in each one's 'Display' menu for a 'Float' setting.

It's a first kick at the can for this, so he mentions known issues/errors such as saving/restoring the state,
but he will work on it more and offers to address any of our concerns, shortly.

Tim.

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by Tim E. Real »

PS, We're aware of a nasty graphics bug, the hidden right half of the Track List in the Arranger
intermittently flashes on and off depending where the mouse is.

If I recall correctly, the bug depends on the chosen Qt Style in our Appearance Settings.
Try another style.

By the way we highly recommend using only the style that comes with Qt - apologies I think it is called Fusion.
We concluded that many other styles, except perhaps with honourable mention to KDE Oxygen, don't fully work well with MusE.
Some are terribly unsuitable.

And check out kybos' amazing work on Dark Flat and Deep Ocean stylesheet themes in the Appearance Settings.
I commented that for the first time I felt MusE worked and felt and looked better with these themes active.
He's our specialist in this stuff :wink:

User avatar
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: SWEDEN
Contact:

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by oscillator »

I like it a lot! Great work! Keeping it tabbed and in one window is something I really like. Nice work @kybos !!!

But other things are acting really strange in MusE now. The xruns count is counting up without me even hitting play, loading an old project brings up an "Can't find sample" window with no content that I cannot remove...

Deleted settings.

Changed theme to "Fusion" and restarted.

XRUNS counter behaves now.

The "Can't find samples" diallog shows, I try to reload the samples, but when clicking OK in that dialog MusE crashes...

Tryng out the new Dark flat and Ocean themes, makes the problem with the "Can't find samples" freezing re-appear with error messages:

current path: /home/staffan/Documents/projects/music/muse_synthpop_tutorial/musesynthpop
museProject /home/staffan/Documents/projects/music/muse_synthpop_tutorial/musesynthpop
filename /home/staffan/Documents/projects/music/muse_tutorial/musesynthpop/tr707/BassDrum1.wav
QSocketNotifier: Can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
...

Force-closed . Deleted all settings incl "theme" folder. MusE just hangs when openings a project where the samples have moved (with the above error messages).

------------------------------------------------------------

OK, once again. More structured now.

Delete MusE settings.

Restart computer.

Start Jack.

Start Muse in terminal.

Muse > Appearance > Styles > Fusion. MusE theme: Current settings.

Quit MusE.

Start Muse in terminal.

Check that Fusion is still active.

Open project with changed path so MusE wants me to locate sample.

BUT. That dialog just shows the border, no content.

Messages in Terminal:

current path: /home/staffan/Documents/projects/music/muse_synthpop_tutorial/musesynthpop
museProject /home/staffan/Documents/projects/music/muse_synthpop_tutorial/musesynthpop
filename /home/staffan/Documents/projects/music/muse_tutorial/musesynthpop/tr707/BassDrum1.wav
QSocketNotifier: Can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread

-----------------------------------------------------------

Just for fun I tried the Qt-style "Windows". Now everythings works, the "Can't find samples" dialog shows up and lets me select the samples.

Hope this notes can be of some help. I really like the tabbed interface!
MusE DAW running on Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

User avatar
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: SWEDEN
Contact:

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by oscillator »

Or should I make a bug report on the issue tracker?

/Staffan
MusE DAW running on Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by Tim E. Real »

Mmm, wait 'till kybos is back, see what he says.
These errors seem awfully strange, they seem not related to these graphics changes.

User avatar
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: SWEDEN
Contact:

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by oscillator »

I wiped all my source and git cloned it again, compiled, wiped my settings, and now things work with the default QT-theme! Must have messed up my local src somehow with a git fetch. Sorry about this.

Love the tabs! Noticed that you can close them with RT-click or (simulated) middle-click. Smooth.
MusE DAW running on Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by Tim E. Real »

Ah, yes that might make sense.
I built his code from scratch and it worked fine, but you pulled an update from git.

I too will soon be pulling the changes into my branches so I will have an opportunity
to test how that works.

Thanks for the warnings and for all the trouble testing, maybe we'll have to warn about that.

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by Tim E. Real »

OT: Hey oscillator, your icon picture gives me the impression of a rough sea-faring person.
Could it be George Clooney in the movie The Perfect Storm?

User avatar
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: SWEDEN
Contact:

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by oscillator »

Tim E. Real wrote:
Sat Sep 05, 2020 7:58 pm
Thanks for the warnings and for all the trouble testing, maybe we'll have to warn about that.
One thing I noted: When opening a project (song) made in a previous 3.1 branch, MusE disconnects from Jack, so I have to go to QJackCtl and manually connect it again. When I save the song, and open it again, MusE does not disconnect. Is there some kind of change in settings that is updating and makes the connection fail?
MusE DAW running on Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

User avatar
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: SWEDEN
Contact:

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by oscillator »

Tim E. Real wrote:
Sat Sep 05, 2020 8:26 pm
OT: Hey oscillator, your icon picture gives me the impression of a rough sea-faring person.
Could it be George Clooney in the movie The Perfect Storm?
I take that as a compliment, because that face is from a self-portrait i painted a year ago! :)
sm.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MusE DAW running on Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by Tim E. Real »

Lol!
Wow, it looks real in the icon. I mistook the darker patches for... 'injuries' !

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by Tim E. Real »

Thought I'd throw this in for fun, since I recently put it all on a drive at hand.
One of my dad's paintings, you could say from his 'dark creatures' period (newspaper article, 1973):
painting1.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: SWEDEN
Contact:

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by oscillator »

Tim E. Real wrote:
Sat Sep 05, 2020 9:37 pm
Thought I'd throw this in for fun, since I recently put it all on a drive at hand.
One of my dad's paintings, you could say from his 'dark creatures' period (newspaper article, 1973):
That is a great drawing! So he worked (works?) as an illustrator? I love that style! Here are some of my illustrations, you'll see that I love demons! :) http://oscillator.se/images
MusE DAW running on Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

User avatar
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: SWEDEN
Contact:

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by oscillator »

Back on topic, there is definitely a problem when I load a song and the instrument (drumkv1) can't find the samples so it displays a dialog "Can't find samples". And there is no content in the dialog, and MusE hangs. Something to do with the style, I think, because it works when I select QT style "Windows".

Here is the output from the terminal

QLayout: Attempting to add QLayout "" to QGroupBox "", which already has a layout
QLayout: Attempting to add QLayout "" to QGroupBox "", which already has a layout
MusE: unknown tag <arrangerview> at line 18356
buffer[1], SS_SYSEX_INIT_DATA_VERSION=3
current path: /home/staffan/Documents/projects/music/muse_synthpop_tutorial/musesynthpop
museProject /home/staffan/Documents/projects/music/muse_synthpop_tutorial/musesynthpop
filename /home/staffan/Documents/projects/music/muse_tutorial/musesynthpop/tr707/BassDrum1.wav
QSocketNotifier: Can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QBasicTimer::start: QBasicTimer can only be used with threads started with QThread
QObject::startTimer: Timers can only be used with threads started with QThread
^C
MusE DAW running on Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

kybos
Established Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 5:50 am

Re: Try out the brand new tabbed MDI style!

Post by kybos »

Thanks Tim for your introduction to the new UI :) .
And thanks to @oscillator for the first test.
I tried to reproduce the problem, no success. I included drumkv1 in my test projects, loaded samples there, deleted one, and reopened the project in MusE. But drumkv1 does not complain, the sample is simply not loaded, no dialogue displayed
It seems that the dialogue you mention comes from drumkv1, not MusE - is that correct? At least I couldn't find the text "Can't find samples" in MusE code.
What am I doing wrong?

Post Reply