Where can I find detailed documentation for wave editor?

MusE is a DAW for Linux with both MIDI and Audio editing. https://muse-sequencer.github.io

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, spamatica

Plug&Play
Established Member

Where can I find detailed documentation for wave editor?

Post by Plug&Play »

I am having difficulty with the track editing tools. I am a newb to using arranger, and have found the tutorial videos, and looked in the manual, but have not found information for the wave editor.

My project is to import a wave file that a friend recorded, use the editor to determine and set the BPM (done), align the audio with bar lines (done). FYI: His timing when recording was quite good, and I am willing to nudge the midi track a bit as needed, it will be sufficient for a concept recording.

There are three things that I have not been able to figure out:
  • create space for 2 bar lead in
  • move the waveform to align with bar lines
  • mix down to a stereo wave file - have not tried yet
I have not been able to learn these tasks:
  • basic wave editing: aligning to bar lines, adding silence at start and end
  • how to use (or understand) the range, stretch and sample rate icons in the editor
  • I have trouble selecting and deleting sections - del, ctl-x ctl-k ? Usually the entire waveform gets deleted, other times it doesn't appear to work unless I select it again [*] is it possible to change the Jack sample rate in Muse? Yesterday I thought I saw an option.
  • Also, Yesterday I stopped jack, changed the rate to 48000, restarted Jack and when I imported an audio file recorded at 48000 it did it without converting. Today it wants to convert it.
I would be grateful for pointers to documents or videos - I am not finding this in the Documentation list https://github.com/muse-sequencer/muse/ ... umentation

Edit 4:09 PDT OK! most or many of my problems were that I didn't understand the selection tools. I still would like to learn more, but I know how to deselect all.