launching muse

MusE is a MIDI/Audio sequencer with recording and editing capabilities, aiming to be a complete multitrack virtual studio for Linux. https://muse-sequencer.org/

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA, spamatica

Post Reply
User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2478
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

launching muse

Post by funkmuscle »

Hi guys, everytime I launch MusE on Arch, it takes about 10 minutes to launch as it's looking for the vst plugins. I've uninstalled dssi-vst, removed all the .dll files and also removed the paths to the vst in the settings yet it still tries to load the .dll and the LinVst converted vsts.
Even after removing the path to the vst folder.
I use MusE for DrumGizmo.

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: launching muse

Post by Tim E. Real »

Can you get away with using the -I command line option (disable loading dssi), or do you have other dssi plugins that you need?

I need to see a few things.

Can you post a terminal output with -D (debug mode) at startup, to see what might be taking so long?
Please do that after running MusE at least one prior time without altering your plugins or paths or anything (so our plugin cache can settle).

Can you also post the following files, thanks:
home/.cache/MusE/MusE/scanner/dssi_plugins.scan
home/.cache/MusE/MusE/scanner/unknown_plugins.scan

User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2478
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: launching muse

Post by funkmuscle »

Tim E. Real wrote:
Sun Jul 26, 2020 5:14 pm
Can you get away with using the -I command line option (disable loading dssi), or do you have other dssi plugins that you need?

I need to see a few things.

Can you post a terminal output with -D (debug mode) at startup, to see what might be taking so long?
Please do that after running MusE at least one prior time without altering your plugins or paths or anything (so our plugin cache can settle).

Can you also post the following files, thanks:
home/.cache/MusE/MusE/scanner/dssi_plugins.scan
home/.cache/MusE/MusE/scanner/unknown_plugins.scan
I think I've solved it. The ~./vst path was under the LinuxVST plugin path. I've removed it. I did that before before the latest version of MusE and it came back with this update.

Post Reply