updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

MusE is a MIDI/Audio sequencer with recording and editing capabilities, aiming to be a complete multitrack virtual studio for Linux. https://muse-sequencer.org/

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, spamatica

vector
Established Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 pm

updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by vector »

Hi all,
So I haven't used Muse for months(and hadn't used it that much previously).
Background:
I mostly use musescore to input basic backing tracks as I learn music(bass)
I had a little song I was trying to make and needed MUSE because musecore does not allow realtime keyboard input and Im just not sure enough of the timing of notation. Easier to play it in realtime against a metronome let muse sort it out and then clean it up for import back into musescore or in fact as I would now like.. to just continue with it in muse cause I can get better sounds/more realistic.

A little ways in, after reminding the cobwebs in my brain how muse worked I decided/noticed there was an update.
so I Installed muse3.1
I have it making a sound Using a GM sound font in fluidsynth but I also noticed half the synths are not there..I can't recall what used to be there to be honest but when I add synth now I only see MESS and DSSI folders both have a 4 or so synths in there. Im sure there used to be dozens.
I went back to the vid tutorials and of course things have changed and so Im none the wiser. Manual didnt help.

Have a i missed a plugin? I thought they would be sf3 or sf2 files so did hd search but not much found.
so basicaly how do I get things to appear in the Available soft synths list again?
Where is a good place or known good synth files repo like to start downloading

I know I had Red_Zeppelin_4_LV2.sf2
I don't recall changing or adding things to Settings Plugin Paths b4 .

Ill start going thru the hd searching for things to see if a path or something has changed/
Open to suggestions. Gawd I hate forgetting things.
What would I know I'm just the bass player

vector
Established Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 pm

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by vector »

ok one of the Global Settings/plugin path/LV2 ...paths point to my home folder/.lv2
I checked in there and the black pearl and red zepplin sf2 files are definitely there
so not sure why its not finding any


oh sorry
running ubuntu studio 18.04

ok found some stuff here
https://rkhive.com/guitar.html
seems to work if I load them under DSSI or MESS fluidsynth
still learning but im having a problem when I load two fluidsynths DSSI... the sounds are distorted.
same with the fluidsynth MESS but if I use a different chn(as in native gui soundfont channel setup) it fixes that. not sure how to do the same on DSSI..It doesnt have that channel setup box. Perhaps I shouldn't be using fluidsynth DSSI but I like that it has a test tone to quickly hear the sound
What would I know I'm just the bass player

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 362
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by Tim E. Real »

Hi vector.
So you are trying to get the AVLDrums LV2 synths to work?
Usually a distro installs them to /usr/lib/lv2 or /usr/lib64/lv2, or, if you built AVLDrums yourself it will install to /usr/local/lib/lv2 or /usr/local/lib64/lv2.
Therefore make sure those paths are listed in the Global Settings Plugin Paths LV2 tab.
The list should look something like this:
{home}/lv2
{home}/.lv2
/usr/local/lib64/lv2
/usr/local/lib/lv2
/usr/lib64/lv2
/usr/lib/lv2

In that order. (The 'local' and 'home' folder paths are listed first so that any user-built versions are found and used before distro-installed versions.)

With the list looking like that, it should pick up all your LV2 synths installed and present them to you in the popup menus along
with all the other MESS, DSSI, VST and other synths.

Regarding the AVLDrums synths, you typically do not want to load the .sf2 files that come with them, unless you have special needs.
Those .sf2 files are used by the AVLDrums LV2 synth, but users typically do not directly load and use the .sf2 files.
Instead, typically you want to load the complete LV2 synth.

Regarding the DSSI and MESS distortion, we've not had any complaints there with multiple instances. Check the levels?
Feel free to post an example recording, or even better post an example song file and I will try to recreate the problem.

Tim.

vector
Established Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 pm

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by vector »

Thanks Tim
Good idea lets take this one at a time.
This is where avldrums are.(I cant recall when or how they got there,months ago.) Ive just simply searched from root/

/home/mark/.lv2/avldrums.lv2/
avldrums.so
avldrums.ttl
avldrumsUI_gl.so
Black_Pearl_4_LV2.sf2
manifest.ttl
Red_Zeppelin_4_LV2.sf2

Muse /global/settings/Plugin Paths/LV2
/home/mark/.lv2 this should find avldrums?
/usr/local/lib64/lv2 lib64 does not exist
/usr/local/lib/lv2 LV2 does not exist here only folders muse-3.0,muse-3.1,python2.7,python3.6(<-no LV2 in any of those folders either)
/usr/lib64/lv2 lib64 does not exist
/usr/lib/lv2 220 folders within LV2, looks mostly like FX,compressors,delays - i take it the .so files are the nitty gritty. No avldrums here
Im not sure where I should see these LV2 FX within Muse.

If I click on one of the 4 empty FXrack? in either an audio track or the output tracks. /New/
dozens of ladspa FX appear.
the three DSSI (fluidsynth,hexter,xsynth) appear
no LV2 ..strange considering there are all those in /usr/lib/lv2


Ok about 2 hours later...because I went checking to see if any other muse were installed thinking cfg conflict, I then broke the menu system...fixed but I still have two Muse launchers in the menu both start 3.1...who knows

so problem remains. when I go to add synth only :
Mess (5 synths)
and DSSI (about3 synths) pop up

FYI muse3.1 was installed compiled and built 2 days ago


As far as DSSI multiples.
FWIW I have attached a med file in the hope its my misunderstanding of how to setup midi in muse.
4 synths.
FS(fluidsynth) MESS has 2 instances:
1 has 2 instruments/sound fonts
2 has 1 soundont

these work fine
FS-DSSI has also 2 instances
I cant work out how to load a second sound font into the one instance like I could with FS-MESS gui there seems to be no ch drop down.
1 poly synth
2 new aged
As soon as I load, ie not even add midi input to the 2.. the 1 is now distorted.

so just creating the instance itself seems to be the issue.
If I delete the 2 instance 1 sounds clear again.

attached the two fonts used in DSSI -adding the others made zip too big.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
What would I know I'm just the bass player

vector
Established Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 pm

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by vector »

Additional.
I went back to a few old muse meds and I was certainly using drumgizmo which is now not found when i open those meds.

I sudo make uninstall in the \build directory of previous muse. That got rid of the second muse in the app menu. yay
I did the same for the one I built a few days back-for good measure. We should now have no muse on the system (not sure how to prove that so just moved on)
then remaid muse-3.1
seems to be no diff
add synth, no drumgizmo appears

removed and reinstalled drumgizmo...no effect :(
drumgizmo folder and files .so etc are definitely in the /usr/lib/lv2 as pointed to by the plugin path

I even removed the /home/mark/.config/MusE which forced it to start afresh..still LV2 stuff
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
What would I know I'm just the bass player

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 362
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by Tim E. Real »

OK thanks. I have not looked at the files yet. There may be a simpler explanation of what's going on:
Possibly LV2 support did not get compiled in when MusE was built.

[ Edit: ] Easier way than shown below, perhaps: In recent MusE versions, in our Help -> About MusE dialog, Robert
added a tab called "Internals" that lists some info about what is enabled and so on. Near the top is listed some build info.

If you still have your 'build' folder, assuming it is called 'build', look in the generated file "build/config.h".
Do you see these:

Code: Select all

#define LV2_SUPPORT
and

Code: Select all

#define HAVE_GTK2
Observe that they are both NOT commented out like this:

Code: Select all

/* #define LV2_SUPPORT[ */

Code: Select all

/* #define HAVE_GTK2 */
If they are commented out, you will need to install LV2 developer packages and re-configure MusE and re-build.
You'll also want the gtk2, gtkmm developer packages to give you the gtk2 UI support.

In previous releases of MusE, we included all the necessary LV2 developer packages, built-in, so that it would "just compile".
We no longer do that. You must install the packages separately. You'll need (at least) lv2, lilv, and sord.
Perhaps that was part of the problem here.

Watch the cmake configuration sequence in a terminal for messages about what MusE found and what (else) might be missing.

Tim.

vector
Established Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 pm

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by vector »

Internals
Version: 3.1.0
(git: master - 97c1be18 - 2018-10-20 18:57:33 -0400)
Build info:
DSSI support enabled.
Native VST support enabled using VESTIGE compatibility header.

Runtime information:

Running audio driver: JackAudioDevice
Sample rate 44100
Segment size 256
Segment count 2

Timer:
no timer information available as midiSeq is not instantiated

Miscellaneous:
debugMode: false
midInputTrace: false
midiOutputTrace: false
unityWorkaround: false
debugMsg: false
heavyDebugMsg: false
debugSync: false
loadPlugins: true
loadMESS: true
loadVST: true
loadNativeVST: true
loadDSSI: true
usePythonBridge: false
useLASH: true
loadLV2: true
useAlsaWithJack: false
noAutoStartJack: false
populateMidiPortsOnStart: true
realtimeScheduling: true
midiRTPrioOverride: true
realtimePriority: 5
midiSeqRunning: false
automation: true
What would I know I'm just the bass player

vector
Established Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 pm

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by vector »

config.h
yep looks like things are commented out


im just reading your reply now to see if I understand how add th eother stuff first then re do this config
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
What would I know I'm just the bass player

vector
Established Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 pm

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by vector »

changed config.h
with
#define LV2_SUPPORT
#define HAVE_GTK2
compiled_muse
and make install

still no lv2
(just thought Id do this one step at a time.)
did not see any problems in the compiled output but then it does go on for a bit :) I could have missed something and it outdoes the terminal buffer so I couldnt lookback.
install LV2 developer packages...gtk2, gtkmm developer packages to give you the gtk2 UI support....You'll need (at least) lv2, lilv, and sord
erm ok
I dont suppose you have more specifics on that? (having broken my distro twice today already) and fastly coming to the conclusion to format c: and start again.im just a little paranoid now
I did however check to see what was already on:
dpkg -l lv2*
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name Version Architecture Description
+++-=========================-=================-=================-========================================================
ii lv2-dev 1.14.0~dfsg1-2 amd64 LV2 audio plugin specification
un lv2-extensions-good <none> <none> (no description available)
un lv2-host <none> <none> (no description available)
un lv2-plugin <none> <none> (no description available)
un lv2core <none> <none> (no description available)
ii lv2vocoder 1-5 amd64 LV2 vocoder plugin
Would indicate lv2 was already there.
same trick with lilv nothing found.
search for sord brings back sordi but nothing else.
NOTE: I recalled installing muse(3.02) on an old laptop around about the same time as previous project. I never used it there because its old and had trouble crunching numbers. However blew the dust off and ran muse
add synth, and bingo MESS, DSSI, LV2 (synths) and LV2 (effects) pop up.
So at least Im not going crazy they were there.
BTW tried the dual FS-DSSI...same issue there too 2nd instance causes distortion.
What would I know I'm just the bass player

vector
Established Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 pm

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by vector »

vst header path: /home/mark/muse/muse-3.1/vestige
Unix (probably linux) found
-- Checking for module 'lash-1.0>=0.2'
-- No package 'lash-1.0' found
-- Checking for module 'lrdf>=0.5'
-- No package 'lrdf' found
Native VST support enabled
-- Checking for module 'lilv-0>=0.22.0'
-- No package 'lilv-0' found
-- Checking for module 'sord-0>=0.14.0'
-- No package 'sord-0' found
-- Checking for module 'rubberband>=1.8.1'
-- No package 'rubberband' found
Zita resampler disabled
-- Checking for module 'libinstpatch'
-- No package 'libinstpatch' found
-- Checking for module 'libinstpatch-1.0'
-- Found libinstpatch-1.0, version 1.0.0


** WARNING: lash (>= 0.2) was enabled, but development files were not found.
** HINT: Don't have LASH? Try installing the LADISH LASH compatibility package instead.
** WARNING: lrdf (>= 0.5) was enabled, but development files were not found.
** WARNING: LV2 support was chosen, but development files were not found or too old:
Requires lv2 >= 1.14.0, lilv-0 >= 0.22.0, sord-0 >= 0.14.0
** WARNING: RubberBand was enabled, but development files were not found.
The following components WILL NOT be built:
-----------------------------------------------
Lash support
Lrdf support
Python support
LV2 support
RubberBand support
Zita Resampler support
Experimental features
so searching for rubber packages
rubber rubberband-cli rubberband-ladspa rubberband-vamp
which one?
Lash brought up nothing
ladish
ladish ladish-dbg
which one?

sordi looks like it was old. I have removed and installed:
lv2-dev,lilv-utils and sordi
What would I know I'm just the bass player

vector
Established Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 pm

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by vector »

nup i dont get it
** WARNING: lash (>= 0.2) was enabled, but development files were not found.
** HINT: Don't have LASH? Try installing the LADISH LASH compatibility package instead.
** WARNING: lrdf (>= 0.5) was enabled, but development files were not found.
** WARNING: LV2 support was chosen, but development files were not found or too old:
Requires lv2 >= 1.14.0, lilv-0 >= 0.22.0, sord-0 >= 0.14.0
** WARNING: RubberBand was enabled, but development files were not found.
mark@fatcat:~$ dpkg -l lv2*
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name Version Architecture Description
+++-==============-============-============-=================================
ii lv2-dev 1.14.0~dfsg1 amd64 LV2 audio plugin specification
un lv2-extensions <none> <none> (no description available)
un lv2-host <none> <none> (no description available)
un lv2-plugin <none> <none> (no description available)
un lv2core <none> <none> (no description available)
ii lv2vocoder 1-5 amd64 LV2 vocoder plugin
mark@fatcat:~$ dpkg -l lilv*
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name Version Architecture Description
+++-==============-============-============-=================================
ii lilv-utils 0.24.2~dfsg0 amd64 library for simple use of LV2 plu
mark@fatcat:~$ dpkg -l sord*
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name Version Architecture Description
+++-==============-============-============-=================================
ii sordi 0.16.0~dfsg0 amd64 library for storing RDF data in m
mark@fatcat:~$
lvs,lilv and sordi are clearly there and > minimum versions
its just that its lilv-utils instead of lilv-0
lilv-0 is not a package I can find
What would I know I'm just the bass player

vector
Established Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 pm

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by vector »

liblilv-0 perhaps?

nope thats already there :(
dpkg -l *lilv*
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name Version Architecture Description
+++-==============-============-============-=================================
ii liblilv-0-0 0.24.2~dfsg0 amd64 library for simple use of LV2 plu
ii lilv-utils 0.24.2~dfsg0 amd64 library for simple use of LV2 plu

BTW for anyone following. this saves the output to a file so you can analyse after
./compile_muse.sh 2>&1 |tee compile_log.txt
ooooH !!!
I just installed liblilv-dev and now the compiler says it will build LV2..
Will see what happens after the compile ;)

while im waiting for that what of these do I need do you suppose hmmm
The following components WILL NOT be built:
-----------------------------------------------
Lash support
Lrdf support
Python support
LV2 makePath support
RubberBand support
Zita Resampler support
Experimental features
What would I know I'm just the bass player

vector
Established Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 pm

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by vector »

YAY LV2 is back :)

so that just leaves us with what I suspect is my wrong interpretation as to how to set up multiple FS-DSSI
What would I know I'm just the bass player

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 362
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by Tim E. Real »

Ouch, that was a bit messy ;-)

When we say "developer packages" it means packages with "-dev" or "-devel", for example "lilv-dev" or "lilv-devel".
These packages contain the necessary headers and libraries to build other software that uses them, such as MusE.

When configuring MusE with cmake, it helps if you have a listing of all the available options and a description of each option.
From inside the build folder, if you type "cmake -LH .." it should print out the list.
For example, here is a sampling of just a few listed options available:

Code: Select all

// Enable LV2 makePath support. Stores plugin config files separate from song. NOT RECOMMENDED.
ENABLE_LV2_MAKE_PATH:BOOL=OFF

// Enable MIDI Name support (MidNam). Official MMA instrument spec. Also for LV2 plugins.
ENABLE_MIDNAM:BOOL=ON

// Enable Lightweight Open Sound Control (liblo) (DSSI also recommended)
ENABLE_OSC:BOOL=ON
Read the descriptions carefully. Some are NOT RECOMMENDED or DEPRECATED.
For example the ENABLE_LV2_MAKE_PATH is definitely NOT RECOMMENDED unless you know what you are doing ;-)

To specify or alter the options, include them with -D in the cmake command, for example like this:
"cmake -DENABLE_RUBBERBAND=ON .."

Virtually all of our recommended options are enabled 'ON' by default. Just install the developer packages and MusE will
automatically pick them up. No need to use -D for them.

There are easier graphical configuration tools than just the command line. But typically you must install them first.
For example there is "ccmake", a text mode cmake GUI, and "cmake-gui", a desktop cmake GUI.

Of your remaining options ('components'), feel free to install developer packages for LASH and RUBBERBAND.
MusE will pick them up automatically.
Don't worry about the other components, you won't need them at this point.

Our README file gives more details about the supported options and their packages.

vector
Established Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:40 pm

Re: updated to Muse 3.1-newbie lost his softsynths

Post by vector »

cheers Tim,
what thru me is it saying lilv-0 was missing when it was liblilv-dev I was needing. searched everywhere for lilv-0 :oops:
Im sure its normal for those who know what they are doing :)

anyway


Did you get a chance to look at my med file to see if im using FS-DSSI correctly?
because I cant think what else would cause that distortion..
What would I know I'm just the bass player

Post Reply